Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Ferren Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ferren, John Millard.
Title: John Ferren Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1928-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, stone carver, sculptor (1905-1970). Assistant professor of art at Queens College, Brooklyn. Photocopies of correspondence (1952-1953); exhibition material; photocopy of a scrapbook; slides of Ferren's work (1928-1964); manuscript articles and addresses by Ferren; five sketchbooks (1929-1957); and published articles and clippings by and about Ferren (1936-1963).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Millard Ferren (1905-1970) was an American artist. Born in Pendleton, Oregon, he began his career as a sculptor and professional stone carver, but studied in France, Spain and Italy in the later 1920's and became a painter. He experimented in the concept of abstract art and had several one-man shows and exhibitons both in France and America in the 1930's. During World War II he served as chief of publications, Psychological Warfare Division.

After the war Ferren turned more towards Abstract Expressionism and eventually to freely painted expressionism. He was an early member of the Club, an organization of Abstract Expressionists, and its president in 1955. He took first prize at the Provincetown Arts Festival in 1958, and his work is represented in the New York Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum, the Cleveland Museum, the San Francisco Museum and many private collections.

In addition to his own artistic endeavors, he taught art at the Brooklyn Museum School, the Cooper Union, and Queens College, New York, and lectured on the subject of modern art. He divided his time between his home in Long Island and his studio/office in New York City.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Ferren Papers, dating from 1929 to 1964, are divided into four series: Correspondence, Subject File, Manuscripts, and Published Material. Biographical material is also included.

Correspondence consists of xerox copies of incoming correspondence. Subject files includes exhibition material, invitations, photographs, a xerox copy of Ferren's scrapbook, and slides of Ferren's art work. Manuscripts includes a typescript article by Ferren, entitled "Epitaph for an Avant-Garcle", and five sketchbooks. Published material includes magazine articles about Ferren, published addresses and articles by Ferren and newspaper clippings about the artist.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic, then arranged chronologically; undated material appears at the end of each topic. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type and then chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ferren, John Millard Archives.

Subjects

Art -- Exhibitions.
Art, Abstract.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Artists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, Abstract.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Invitations.
Lectures.
Photographs.
Press releases.
Scrapbooks.
Sketchbooks.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Ferren Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Millard Ferren, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 2001
Revision history: 30 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming
Subject file
Box 1 Exhibitions
Box 1 Invitations
Photographs
Box 1 Negatives
Box 1 Personal
Box 1 Works
Box 1 Scrapbook
Box 1 Slides
Manuscripts
Box 1 Article, "Epitaph for an Avant-Garde"
Box 1 Sketchbooks (2 volumes)
Box 1 Sketchbooks (2 volumes)
Published Material
Box 1 Articles and addresses by
Box 1 Magazine articles about
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about
Box 1 Press release

Return to top