Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ferrara, Susan.
Title: Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material
Inclusive Dates: 1950-1985
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence and printed material related to children's author L. Frank Baum
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Susan Ferrara is a Baum biographer and scholar. She is the author of The Family of the Wizard: the Baums of Syracuse and other books on L. Frank Baum and his work. She attended SUNY-Geneseo, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and the University of Maryland College Park. In the past she has worked as a writer/editor for ABC and currently does freelance research and writing.

L. Frank Baum (1856-1919) is a beloved children's author, writer of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and a plethora of other stories, poems, and scripts. The majority of this collection focuses on his niece, Cynthia Baum Tassini, for whom it is rumored the dedication in the The Emerald City of Oz ("Dedicated to Her Royal Highness Cynthia II of Syracuse") could refer to.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material consists of research material gathered by Susan Ferrara during the course of her work, including correspondence and printed material.

Correspondence consists of incoming mail to Cynthia Baum Tassini.

Printed material contains clippings, books, and microfilm.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, with undated material or empty envelopes at the end. Printed material is single items, except for clippings, which are arranged chronologically with undated material at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Please search our collections for more material related to L. Frank Baum. Some material can also be found in Rare Books by searching the Classic Catalog .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Baum, Frank Joslyn, 1883-1958.
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919.
Tassini, Cynthia Baum.
Wizard of Oz (Fictitious character)

Subjects

Children's literature, American.

Genres and Forms

Doctoral dissertations.
Black-and-white photographs.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Microfilms.
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Research notes.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sue Ferrara, 2001.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010
Revision history: 29 Jan 2019 - processed (KD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Baum, Frank J. 1950-1958 - contains 2 photographs
Box 1 Brody, Ed 1982
Box 1 Meyer, Fred M. 1973-1984 (2 folders)
Printed material
Box 1 Austin and the Reese River Mining District 1985 - Donald R. Abbe
Box 1 Clippings 1952-1960, undated
Box 1 Columbia Library Columns May 1955 - Vol. 4, No. 3
Box 1 Exhibition catalog 1956 - Columbia University
Box 2 Keystone Mining Co. Circular - microfilm
Box 2 The Oil Circuit 1969 - dissertation by Bob Herbert Copeland

Return to top