Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Beatrice Fenton Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fenton, Beatrice, 1887-1983
Title: Beatrice Fenton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1926-1965
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, photographs of work, clippings, exhibition catalogs, and other published work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Beatrice Fenton (1887-1983) was an American sculptor and educator, best known for her whimsical fountains.

Fenton was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on July 2, 1887. She studied in Philadelphia at the School of Industrial Art from 1903-1904, and at the Academy of Fine Arts from 1904-1911. Some of her principal works are the Seaward Fountain in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, the Fairy Fountain in Wister Woods, and a bronze memorial tablet to Charles M. Schmitz.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Beatrice Fenton Papers consists of correspondence, photographs, and published material relating to the American artist.

Correspondence is incoming only. Photographs consist of photographs of the artist's work. Published material consists of magazine articles about Beatrice Fenton and about others, booklets, exhibitions, invitations, news clippings, and a catalog

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author. Photographs are arranged alphabetically by title. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Fenton, Beatrice, 1887-1983.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- United States.
Fountains.
Garden ornaments and furniture.
Outdoor sculpture.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Invitations.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Beatrice Fenton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1966
Revision history: 7 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 28 Nov 2016 - minor expansions/corrections (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, A-W
Photographs
Box 1 Ariel sundial
Box 1 Baby Joe
Box 1 Baby Neptune fountain
Box 1 Bacchanale
Box 1 Bald eagle
Box 1 "Barkley Congressional Medal"
Box 1 Bill
Box 1 Boy and starfish fountain
Box 1 Bronze memorial tablet
Box 1 Bust of Felix E. Schelling
Box 1 Bust of Thomas H. Fenton, M.D. "My Father"
Box 1 Caryatid
Box 1 Dunn, John Struthers, Jr.
Box 1 Dancer - statuette of Anne Criss
Box 1 Fairy fountain
Box 1 Fountain figure
Box 1 Fountain in private garden
Box 1 Javelin throw
Box 1 Karen
Box 1 Leopard, in limestone
Box 1 Leopard, in stone
Box 1 Memorial sundial
Box 1 Madonna and child
Box 1 Nereid fountain
Box 1 [The] One Arm Put Up
Box 1 Portrait bust of Marjorie D. Martinet
Box 1 Portrait study
Box 1 Purna
Box 1 Seaward fountain
Box 1 Statuette of dancer
Box 1 Terminal figure for garden
Box 1 Torso
Box 1 Victory
Published material
Box 1 Articles about others 1942
Hahnemannian Monthly, v. 77 no. 3 (Mar 1942)
Box 1 Booklets with pictures of works 1935-1960
Art Jury 39th Annual Report (1949); Four Quarters, v. 9 no. 2 (Jan 1960); University of Pennsylvania Library Chronicle, v. 6 no. 3 (Oct 1938); Lizette Woodworth Reese 1856-1935: A Tribute (1944)
Reese item ransferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 1 Catalog, Department of Fine Arts Sesquicentennial International Exposition, Philadelphia 1926
Box 1 Exhibitions
Ten Philadelphia Painters, Art Club of Philadelphia (1927); Exhibition of Paintings and Sculpture, Art Club of Philadelphia (1929); Exhibition of Decorative Arts, Brooks Memorial Art Gallery (1935)
Some items ransferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.
Box 1 Invitations 1965
Box 1 Magazine articles about Beatrice Fenton 1927, 1938, 1957
Art Digest v. 1 no. 15 (Jun 1927); University of Pennsylvania Library Chronicle, v. 6 no. 4 (Dec 1938); Arts in Philadelphia, v. 2 no. 7 (Apr 1940); National Sculpture Review, v. 6 no. 3 (Fall 1957)
Box 1 News clippings about Beatrice Fenton
Box 1 Sculpture by Beatrice Fenton

Return to top