Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

James T. Farrell Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.
Title: James T. Farrell Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1953-1961
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American novelist, author. Collection includes lecture notes on the poetry of Horace Gregory; manuscripts of articles; and published material by and about Farrell.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James T. Farrell (1904-1979) was an Irish-American novelist, short story writer, journalist, travel writer, poet, and literary critic. Born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, he attended the University of Chicago and published his first short story in 1929. He is best known for his Studs Lonigan trilogy and for his A note on Literary Criticism, in which he described two types of the American Marxist character.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James T. Farrell Papers consist almost exclusively of writings, including lecture notes, manuscripts of articles, and published material. The latter includes newspaper and magazine articles by and about Farrell.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.
Gregory, Horace, 1898-1982.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James T. Farrell Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: July 1987
Revision history: 13 Jul 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 27 Feb 2017 - related collection link added (MRC); 5 May 2017 - photograph added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 20 "Author defends his character Studs Lonigan," Louisville Times Nov 22 1960
SC 20 "A chance meeting with Mencken and masters" Jan 31 1956
SC 20 "A few observations on movie and television files" undated
SC 20 "Horace Gregory's poetry reread undated - lecture notes
SC 20 "Lebanon: a first impression"
SC 20 "Open letter to Khrushchev," Thought Dec 2 1961
SC 20 "Terrence McGinty" 1953 - short story
Miscellaneous
SC 20 "High hopes that led to disillusion," New York Times Nov 12 1961
SC 20 Photograph of Farrell, Horace Gregory, and Marya Zaturenska 1979

Return to top