Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Farm Security Administration Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: United States. -- Farm Security Administration.
Title: Farm Security Administration Photographs
Inclusive Dates: 1934-1943
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Photographs from the American South and West, relating to agricultural conditions and family resettlement during the Great Depression (1929-1939); taken under the auspices of the Resettlement Administration and Farm Security Administration
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Resettlement Administration (RA) was a federal agency created in 1935, under the auspices of the United States Department of Agriculture, in response to poverty resulting from the Great Depression. It built relief camps for migratory workers, particularly in California, and relocated struggling urban and rural families to new communities planned and built by the federal government, such as Greenbelt, Maryland. The RA was controversial within the US Congress, where it was perceived as socialist or even Communist, and in 1936 the US Supreme Court ruled its town-building program unconstitutional (Franklin Township v. Tugwell, 1936). In 1937 the RA was folded into the new Farm Security Administration (FSA) which was intended to promote rural rehabilitation more generally. Among other things, the FSA had a small but highly influential photography program that vividly portrayed the challenges of rural poverty, and created an indelible image of the Depression in the United States. Many notable photographers produced work for the FSA, including Ben Shahn, Walker Evans, and Dorothea Lange.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Farm Security Administration Photographs contains photographs taken in agricultural areas of the United States between the mid-1930s and mid-1940s. The photographs were taken on behalf of the Resettlement Administration (RA) and the Farm Security Administration (FSA), and include several by notable photojournalists: six by Dorothea Lange, twelve by Arthur Rothstein, six by Russell Lee, six by John Vachon, and one by Carl Mydans. Others are attributed only to Acme News Pictures. All photographs have an NEA (Newspaper Enterprise Association) hand-stamp on the back; many also have FSA or RA hand-stamps. All photographs are dated and most have captions, either handwritten or typed. An index to photographers appears at the end of this finding aid.

Images include houses, gardens, farms, and farm equipment, as well as people -- men, women, and children -- at home, at work in fields and gardens, at agricultural meetings, in new "resettlement" houses, and so on. Several depict migrant workers (cherry pickers in Michigan and pea pickers in California). Identified events include the Imperial Valley Pea Strike and groundbreaking for the planned town of Greenbelt, Maryland. Thirteen states are represented, though California is the most frequent.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Lange, Dorothea.
Lee, Russell, 1903-1986.
Mydans, Carl.
Rothstein, Arthur, 1915-1985.
Vachon, John, 1914-1975.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Farm Security Administration.
United States. -- Resettlement Administration.

Subjects

Depressions -- 1929.
Documentary photography -- United States.
Farmers -- United States.
Migrant labor -- United States.
Migration, Internal -- United States.
Photographers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- 1933-1945.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Farm Security Administration Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Sep 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 863 Photographs by state, A-G 1934-1943 - Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia
SC 863 Photographs by state, I-T 1934-1943 - Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Tennessee, unidentified

Return to top

Index to photographers

All identified photographers are listed here, with the locations where their photos may be found in the collection.

Return to top