Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Aden Daniel Eyster Recordings

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Eyster, Aden Daniel.
Title: Aden Daniel Eyster Recordings
Inclusive Dates: 1958-1975
Quantity: 70 items
Abstract: Recordings of instrumental and vocal performances (church choirs, opera societies, etc.) in and around York and Lancaster, Pennsylvania.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Aden Daniel Eyster (1936-2002) was a systems engineer and long-time resident of York, Pennsylvania. A music-lover and singer, he was an active member of the choir at Highland Presbyterian Church in Lancaster, and a member of the Lancaster Symphony Chorus and the Lancaster Opera Company. (Obituary, York [Pennsylvania] Dispatch, Nov 2002.)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aden Daniel Eyster Recordings consist of seventy audiotapes recorded by Aden Daniel Eyster in the Lancaster, Pennsylvania area. Recordings include church choirs in York and Lancaster, the York Symphony Orchestra & Choir, Lancaster Opera Workshop (LOW), and performances of Reginald Lunt, a well-known local organist in the Lancaster area. Also included in the collection are a few over-the-air broadcasts of classical music performances and NASA events.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Eyster, Aden Daniel.

Subjects

Choirs (Music)
Choruses.
Music.
Operas -- Performances.

Places

Pennsylvania.

Genres and Forms

Sound recordings.
Tape reels.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aden Daniel Eyster Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Steve Spadafore, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top