Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Estrangelo Syriac Manuscript

A description of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Unknown
Title: Estrangelo Syriac Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: 18th century?
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript written in Estrangelo script of Syriac, possibly Christian, bound in canvas cover using recycled pages of other documents.
Language: Syriac, Aramaic
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Very little is known about this item. The manuscript is approximately 225 pages, bound in canvas; the "boards" consist of thick pads of pages recycled from other manuscripts. The title page has a large illustration of an ornate cross with textual embellishment and knotwork decoration. The first page has a decorative border of the same knotwork. The text, written in black and red ink, is in the Estrangelo script of Syriac, a dialect of Aramaic. The date is unknown but is estimated to be 18th century.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Manuscripts, Syriac
Syriac Christians

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Estrangelo Syriac Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Arthur Marsella, 2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 30 Jun 2006
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 167 Estrangelo Syriac manuscript ca. 18th century

Return to top