Finding Aids
printer friendly version

ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education.
Title: ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1962-1973
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: The ERIC/AE collection contains organizational material, correspondence, financial records, printed material, and reports related to ERIC/AE and its predecessor, the Library of Continuing Education. Printed material includes information sources, occasional papers and newsletters published by the Clearinghouse. Writings by Alexander N. Charters, Margaret Charters, Roger DeCrow, Stanley M. Grabowski, Charles Hoover, Huey B. Long, John A. Niemi, John Ohliger, Sara M. Steele and Coolie Verner are included.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) at Syracuse University was an outgrowth of the Library of Continuing Education (LCE). LCE provided a storehouse for information in the area of adult education. During the term of the LCE contract the need arose for a different type of work than that done under the LCE contract. In the meantime the ERIC Clearinghouse network became available. ERIC Clearinghouse provided "research and research related documents to which access cannot be readily attained through any presently existing bibliographic tool". The working papers of LCE's final report indicate that the "Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University will operate as an ERIC Clearinghouse for the period of the present contract." (Statement of Work, Library of Continuing Education, working papers)

"The ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) was sponsored by the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) of the United States Office of Education and Syracuse University to provide information services to the adult education and training profession." (Continuing Education For Adults. No. 147, April 1970. p. 1) ERIC/AE gathered together information that would be of help "to adult education agencies in business and industry, churches, the military and other governmental and community organizations as well as schools and universities." (Ibid.) A National Advisory Board was established to determine what information needs were and to maintain contact with the field of adult education.

A primary function of ERIC/AE was the printing of various materials, including bibliographies, analytical reviews, Basic Literature Sources, Current Literature Sources and newsletters.

The Syracuse University contract for ERIC/AE was not renewed in 1972. At that time the Clearinghouse moved to Illinois. The Clearinghouse then moved to Ohio State where it is part of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult, Career and Vocational Education.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) Records is divided into five series. Association contains material related to the development of ERIC/AE and its relationship to LCE (Library of Continuing Education). Material includes proposals and visitor lists and is arranged chronologically. Correspondence, arranged alphabetically by type of correspondence, includes letters, memos, individuals and organization and is arranged chronologically within each folder. Financial comprises budget information (1964-1973). Printed matter contains series, filed in numerical order by series number; literary reviews, in alphabetical order by title; and articles which appeared in journals, arranged in chronological order. Reports includes various reports on ERIC/AE arranged alphabetically by report title, for example "National Advisory Board, Quarterly Reports," and chronologically within each folder.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, see also the following:

Adult Education Association of the USA (AEA/USA) Records
Alexander N. Charters Papers
John Niemi Papers
Coolie Verner Papers
James B. Whipple Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N.
Charters, Margaret A.
DeCrow, Roger.
Grabowski, Stanley M.
Hoover, Charles.
Long, Huey B.
Niemi, John A.
Ohliger, John.
Steele, Sara M.
Verner, Coolie.

Corporate Bodies

ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education -- Records and correspondence.
Syracuse University -- ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education -- Records and correspondence.
Syracuse University -- Library of Continuing Education.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Adult education of women.
Continuing education.
Older people -- Education.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Brochures.
Budgets.
Papers (document genres)
Proposals.
Reports.

Occupations

Adult education teachers.
Educators.
Teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1988?
Revision history: 5 Jun 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Association
Box 1 Library of Continuing Education (LCE) proposals undated
Box 1 LCE/ERIC planning and evaluation papers 1965-1966
Box 1 LCE/ERIC workplans undated
Box 1 LCE final report 30 Jun 1967
Box 1 Library of Continuing Education/ERIC Clearinghouse proposal guidelines (Department of Health, Education and Welfare) 1968
Box 1 LCE plan for development 1968-1971
Box 1 LCE reports, duplicate lists, manuscripts/archives undated
Box 1 LCE Statement of Work Nov 1966-Mar 1967
Box 1 ERIC Clearinghouses 1966-1967
Box 1 ERIC proposals Apr 1967
Box 1 ERIC/AE proposals, contracts, 1967-1969; evaluation, Jun 1968
Box 1 ERIC, documentation of ERIC/AE visitors Mar 1968-Oct 1970
Box 2 ERIC/AE proposal, RFP terminology. undated
Box 2 ERIC/AE proposals, contracts, budget 1968-1971
Box 2 ERIC/AE proposal renewal 1960-1970
Box 2 ERIC/AE proposals/budget 1971-1973
Box 2 ERIC/AE evaluation, 1968; "Model Information Services in Adult Basic Education" - grant proposal, 1970
Box 2 ERIC/AE proposal 1970-1971
Box 2 ERIC/AE phase out 1971
ERIC/AE
Box 2 Jul 1967-Jul 1969
Box 2 Jun 1971-Nov 1973
Correspondence
Box 2 Mailing lists undated
Box 2 Memos Feb 1967-Aug 1967
Box 2 Syracuse University Libraries memos Jan 1966-Mar 1966
Box 2 U. S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare 1967-1972
Box 2 Charles Hoover, Acting Chief of Central ERIC May 1971-May 1972
Box 2 Dr. Coolie Verner Oct 1971-May 1972
Financial
Box 3 LCE, budget 1964
Box 3 LCE, budget 1965-1966
Box 3 LCE, budget 1966-1967
Box 3 LCE/ERIC Clearinghouse, budget Sep 1966-Jan 1967
Box 3 LCE, budget 1967-1968
Box 3 LCE, budget. 1965-1968
Box 3 Syracuse University Research Corporation (SURC), budget and proposal 1968
Box 3 LCE, budget 1972-1973
Printed material
Series
Box 4 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education (ERIC/AE) publication lists 1969-1970
Box 4 Current Information Sources/Adult Basic Education (CIS/ABE) undated
Basic Information Sources (BIS)
Box 4 BIS No. 2. Adult Learning and Instruction 1971
Box 4 BIS No. 17. Evening College Education 1967
Continuing Information Sources (CIS)
Box 4 CIS No. 1. Higher Adult Education 1967
Box 4 CIS No. 4. Continuing Education in the Professions 1967
Box 4 CIS No. 5. Management Development 1967
Box 4 CIS No. 6. Television and Radio in Adult Education 1967
Box 4 CIS No. 8. Training of Adult Education Personnel 1967
Box 4 CIS No. 9. Public School Adult Education 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 11. Higher Adult Education 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 12. Adult Education in Africa 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 13. Adult Education in Asia, Australia and New Zealand 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 14. Education for Aging 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 15. Programmed Instruction in Adult Education 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 16. Community Education for Adults 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 17. Management Development 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 18. Adult Basic Education 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 19. Public School Adult Education 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 20. Cooperative Extension 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 21. Adult Learning Characteristics 1968
Box 4 CIS No. 23. Continuing Education of Women 1969
Box 4 CIS No. 23. Counseling and Personnel Services in Adult Education Counseling 1969
Box 4 CIS No. 27. Adult Basic Education 1970
Box 5 CIS No. 28. Programmed Instruction in Business and Industry 1970
Box 5 CIS No. 30. Parent, Home and Family Life Education. (Joint Publication with Adult Association of the U.S.A.) 1970
Box 5 CIS No. 32. Continuing Education of Women 1970
Box 5 CIS No. 33. Training of Law Enforcement Personnel 1971
Occasional papers
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 21. "Community Service and Continuing Education: A Literature Review." (James B. Whipple) 1970
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 30. "Toward a Gog and Magog or? A Critical Review of the Literature of Adult Group Discussion." (Franklin W. W. Osinski, Joh Ohliger, Colleen McCarthy) 1972
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 32. "Pablo Freire: A Revolutionary Dilemma for the Adult Educator." (Stanley M. Grabowski) 1972
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 34. "Consumer Education Programming in Continuing Education." (Margaret Charters) 1973
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 35. "Conceptual Learning From Mollusks to Adult Education" 1973
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 36. "Towards a Working Philosophy of Adult Education" 1970
Box 5 Occasional Paper No. 38. "Evaluating the Attainment of Objectives in Adult Education: Process, Properties, Problems, Prospects." (Sara M. Steel and Robert E. Brack) 1973
Box 5 Newsletter - "Continuing Education for Adults," Nos. 129-149/150 Oct 1968-May 1970
Box 5 Newsletter - "Continuing Education for Adults," Nos. 151-182, msg. 160, 166, 167 Mar 1973
Box 5 Newsletter - ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education undated
Literature reviews
Box 6 Adult Education, vol. XVII No. 4 (Summer) 1967
Box 6 "Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult" (Darrell Anderson and John Niemi) undated
Box 6 "Adult Education Dissertation Abstracts, 1868-1969" (Stanley Grabowski) undated
Box 6 "Adult Education in Germany: A Bibliography" (Armin L. Schadt) 1969
Box 6 "Contemporary Approaches to Program Evaluation: Implications for Evaluating Programs for Disadvantaged Adults" (Sara M. Steel) 1973
Box 6 "Continuing Education in the Health Related Professions: A Review of the Literature Pertinent to North America, 1960-1970" (June Nakamoto and Coolie Verner) 1973
Box 6 "Correspondence Study: A Summary of the Research of the Research and Development Research" (David E. Mathieson, National Home Study Council) 1971
Box 6 "Cost Benefit Analysis and the Adult Educator: A Literature Review" (Sara M. Steele) undated
Box 6 "Cross Cultural Interaction Skills: A Digest of Recent Training Literature" (Roger DeCrow) undated
Box 6 "Education for Aging: A Review of Recent Literature" (H. Lee Jacobs, W. Dean Mason, Earl Kauffman, Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.) undated
Box 6 "The Education of the Mentally Retarded Adult: A Selective Review of Recent Literature" (Huey B. Long) 1973
Box 7 "A Handbook For Teachers of Non-English Speaking Adults" (Patricia Hefferman-Cabrera) undated
Box 7 "Human Relations - Training and Research" undated
Box 7 Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University - Part I Adult Education Periodical Holdings; Part II Adult Education Newspaper Holdings. Adult Education Periodical Holdings undated
Box 7 "The Mass Media in Cooperative Extension: A Review of Recent Literature" (Jack C. Everly) undated
Box 7 "The Mass Media in Adult Education. A Review of Recent Literature" (John Ohliger) 1968
Box 7 "The Mass Media in Adult Education in the Developing Countries" (David G. Guelette) 1971
Box 7 "Mass Media in Public Affairs Adult Education: A Review of the Literature" (Hilton M. Power) 1970
Box 7 "Methods and Techniques of Adult Education" undated
Box 7 "A Model of Information System for the Adult Education Profession" (Roger DeCrow) undated
Box 7 "NEEDS - of People and Their Communities - and the Adult Educator" (Ernest E. McMahon. Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.) undated
Box 7 "Occupational Training for Disadvantaged Adults: An Annotated Bibliography" (Training Information Sources No. 2.) Jun 1970
Box 7 "Physical Facilities in the Research and Training of Adults" (memorandum on sparse research and development literature) undated
Box 7 "The Preparation of Adult Educators: A Selected Review of the Literature" (Coolie Verner, Gary Dickinson, Walter Leirman, Helen Niskala; Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.) undated
Box 7 Product reports Jul 1970-Nov 1971
Box 7 Product reports Feb 1971-Sep 1973
Box 8 "A Register of Research and Investigation in Adult Education" (Roger DeCrow and Stanley Grabowski eds.) 1968
Box 8 "Research and Investigation in Adult Education: 1969 Annual Register" (Roger DeCrow and Stanley Grabowski, eds.) 1969
Box 8 "Research and Investigation in Adult Education: 1970 Annual Register" (Roger DeCrow and Stanley Grabowski, eds.; ERIC/AE and Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.) 1970
Box 8 "Research and Investigation in Adult Education: 1971 Annual Register" (Roger DeCrow and Stanley Grabowski, eds.) 1971
Box 8 "Research and Investigation in Adult Education: 1972 Annual Register" (Roger DeCrow and Stanley Grabowski, eds.) 1972
Box 8 "Television: A Viable Channel for Educating Different Poverty Groups?--A Literature Review" (John A. Niemi and Darrell V. Anderson) 1971
Box 8 "The Use of Mass Media in Religiously Motivated Adult Education: A Review of the Literature" (Robert W. Clyde and Eugene C. Jaberg) 1970
Articles
Box 9 Sep 1967-Dec 1967
Box 9 Jun 1968-Dec 1968
Box 9 Jan 1969-Dec 1969
Box 9 Jan 1970-Jul 1970
Box 9 Jan 1971-Dec 1971
Box 9 Mar 1972-Nov 1972
Box 9 Jan 1973-Aug 1973
Box 9 "Higher Education in the United States: The Current Picture, Trends and Issues" (Malcolm S. Knowles, American Council on Education) undated
Box 10 Adult Education Research Conference (formerly NSAER), Minneapolis, 27 Feb-2 Mar 1970; - digest of papers presented to the Adult Education Research Conference
Box 10 International Seminar in Continuing Education (Alexander N. Charters, ed. Publication in Continuing Education) Jun 1972
Box 10 National Seminar on Adult Education (NSAER), Chicago 11-13 Feb 1968
Box 10 National Seminar on Adult Education Research (NSAER), Toronto 9-11 Feb 1969 - abstracts of papers
Reports
Box 10 Final report, "Adult Education Information Services: Establishment of a Prototype System. Part I" 1 Dec 1967
Box 10 Final report, "Adult Education Information Services: Establishment of a Prototype System. Part II" 1 Dec 1967
Box 10 Final report, "Adult Education Information Services: Establishment of a Prototype System. Part III" 1 Dec 1967
Box 10 Program review presentation 1 Dec 1967
National Advisory Board
Box 11 13 Nov 1967
Box 11 4 Jan 1968
Box 11 15 Mar 1968
Box 11 4-6 Jun 1968
Box 11 3-4 Dec 1968
Box 11 Minutes 13 Nov 1967-3 Dec 1968
Box 11 17-18 Apr 1969
Box 11 17-18 Apr 1969, photographs
Box 11 23 Oct 1969, photographs
Box 11 3-4 Jun 1970
Box 11 18 Jun 1971
Box 11 4 Feb 1972
Box 11 Biographies, photographs (1969)
Box 11 Minutes, correspondence, biographies undated
Quarterly reports
Box 12 Oct 1967-Jan 1968, Jul 1968-Dec 1968
Box 12 Jan 1968, Jan 1970
Box 12 6 Apr 1970
Box 12 Oct 1971-Apr 1972
Box 12 Jul 1972-Jan 1973
Box 12 Mar 1973-Sep 1973
Box 12 Review of ERIC/AE (Knox Committee) 1971
Box 12 Syracuse University Libraries' Report to Syracuse University: The Library Building Program Oct 1965
Box 12 University College, Annual Reports "Continuing Education at Syracuse University" University Annual Report 1954-1963
Box 12 United States Department of Education, progress reports, procedures undated

Return to top