Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Margaret Embree Photograph Album

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Embree, Margaret.
Title: Margaret Embree Photograph Album
Inclusive Dates: circa 1940-1960
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Compiled by Margaret Embree of Syracuse, NY. Consists of candid shots of family, friends, her work at Iroquois China in Solvay and Thermold Plastics in Canastota; includes a few photos of German POWs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Embree (possibly 1925?-2009?) was a long-time resident of Syracuse, New York. She worked for many years for the Iroquois China Company in nearby Solvay, and for Thermold Plastics in Canastota.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Embree Photograph Album contains more than 350 photographs of Embree and her family, friends, and workplace. Approximately a third show Embree and other women at work in local factories during and after World War II, including the Iroquois China Company and Thermold Plastics. There are also four images of US soldiers and German prisoners dated "Summer 1945." The location is not given, but POWs were interned at several Central New York sites during the war, including Letchworth, Rome, Utica, and Green Lakes.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Embree, Margaret.

Corporate Bodies

Iroquois China Company.
Thermold Plastics.

Subjects

Women -- Employment.
Women -- New York (State) -- Social life and customs.
Working class.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Women.

Places

Canastota (N.Y.) -- History.
Solvay (N.Y.) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Photograph albums.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Embree Photograph Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 5 Nov 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Oversize 1 Photograph album 1940-1960

Return to top