Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Herbert Elliston Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Elliston, Herbert Berridge.
Title: Herbert Elliston Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1940-1957
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist, Pulitzer Prize winner. Collection consists entirely of clippings of Elliston's editorials.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Herbert Elliston (1895-1957) was an American journalist, winner of the 1949 Pulitzer Prize for Distinguished Editorial Writing. Born in England, Elliston served in the Royal Horse Artillery and subsequently was foreign correspondent for a number of British newspapers. Around 1920 he took a position as foreign correspondent with the New York Herald; he later began to write editorials for that publication. From 1930 to 1940 he was financial editor and columnist for the Christian Science Monitor, and from 1940-1953 he was editorial page editor for the Washington Post. After his retirement in 1953, he continued to write a regular Sunday column for the Post until his death.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Herbert Elliston Papers consist entirely of clippings of his editorials, spanning nearly twenty years.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Elliston, Herbert Berridge.

Subjects

American newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc. -- Editorials.
Editorials -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Files (document groupings)

Occupations

Newspaper editors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Herbert Elliston Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Herbert Elliston, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Apr 2010
Revision history: 3 Feb 2011 - processed, updated inventory (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Editorials 1940, Nov - clippings
Box 1 Editorials 1941, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 2 Editorials 1942, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 2 Editorials 1943, Jan-Jun - clippings (6 folders)
Box 3 Editorials 1943, Jul-Dec - clippings
Box 3 Editorials 1944, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 4 Editorials 1945, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 4 Editorials 1946, Jan-Mar - clippings (3 folders)
Box 5 Editorials 1946, Apr-Dec - clippings (9 folders)
Box 5 Editorials 1947, Jan-Jul - clippings (7 folders)
Box 6 Editorials 1947, Aug-Dec - clippings (5 folders)
Box 6 Editorials 1948, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 7 Editorials 1949, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 7 Editorials 1950, Jan-Jul - clippings (7 folders)
Box 8 Editorials 1950, Aug-Dec - clippings
Box 8 Editorials 1951, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 8 Editorials 1952, Jan-May - clippings (5 folders)
Box 9 Editorials 1952, Jul, Oct-Dec - clippings (4 folders)
Box 9 Editorials 1953, Jan-Oct - clippings (10 folders)
Box 9 Editorials 1954, Feb-Dec - clippings (11 folders)
Box 10 Editorials 1955, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 10 Editorials 1956, Jan-Dec - clippings (12 folders)
Box 10 Editorials 1957, Jan - clippings

Return to top