Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Dave Salmon, Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dave Salmon, Inc.
Title: Dave Salmon, Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera
Inclusive Dates: 1945-1957
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Dave Salmon Inc. was a promoter of fine arts performances in Syracuse, NY. The scrapbook contains programs and tickets for plays, operas, concerts, lectures, and variety performances in the 1940s and 1950s. There are also a few pages of correspondence and draft advertising copy, and a few photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dave Salmon, Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera consists of a scrapbook and miscellaneous items.

The Scrapbook contains tickets and programs from a variety of cultural performances in and around Syracuse, New York in the 1940s and 1950s which were advertised and/or promoted by Dave Salmon, Inc. It offers a unique snapshot of the type of cultural activities available to Syracusans in the post-war period. Events represented include plays ("The Seven Year Itch," "Macbeth"), operas ("The Barber of Seville," "Cavalleria Rusticana"), concerts (The Philadelphia Orchestra, Duke Ellington, Guy Lombardo, the Trapp Family Singers), lectures (news analyst Lowell Thomas), and variety performances ("Spike Jones and His Musical Depreciation Review," Adolphe Menjou). Most of the performances took place at the Lincoln Auditorium at Central High School; other venues include the Jefferson Street Armory, the Midtown Theatre (221 Salina St.), Keith's Theatre, Country Playhouses in Fayetteville and East Rochester, and the Onondaga County War Memorial. There are also a few pages of draft copy for promotional material for "The Seven Year Itch," and photographs of actors George Keane, Louise King, Robert Q. Lewis, Bea Arthur, Don Liberto, and Janet Riley.

Miscellaneous material includes the company's copy of their contract with Duke Ellington, a letter from actor Lowell Thomas, and some signed photographs.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Dave Salmon, Inc.

Subjects

Concert programs, New York (State), Syracuse
Nineteen fifties
Nineteen forties
Popular culture, New York (State), Syracuse
Theater programs, New York (State), Syracuse

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) Social life and customs

Genres and Forms

Admission tickets.
Contracts.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Theater programs.

Occupations

Promoters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dave Salmon, Inc. Collection of Syracuse Cultural Ephemera,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 17 Aug 2006
Revision history: 21 Sep 2007 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Scrapbook
SC 173 Tickets and programs 1945-1957
SC 173 "The Seven Year Itch" - draft of advertising copy and program undated
SC 173 Photographs undated - George Keane, Louise King, Robert Q. Lewis, Bea Arthur, Don Liberto, and Janet Riley
Miscellaneous
SC 173 Photographs, letters, contracts 1946-1948, undated

Return to top