Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George Dole Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dole, George, 1920-
Title: George Dole Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: circa 1964-1968
Quantity: 1.4 linear ft.
Abstract: 25 original gag magazine cartoons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Dole (1920- ) was an American cartoonist and painter.

George Dole was born in New York City on July 24, 1920 and studied at the National Academy of Design, the Pratt Institute and the Art Students League of New York and began his career as a cartoonist in 1952. His work appeared in many prominent publications, including Playboy, the Saturday Review, Pageant, Cosmopolitan and the Wall Street Journal with freelance writers providing the gags for some of the cartoons.

Dole, a member of the Magazine Cartoonists Guild, had his work exhibited in 1969 at the Sixth International Salon of Cartoons in Montreal.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Dole Cartoons contain 25 original magazine gag cartoons. None of the cartoons are dated. Two are labeled for the Saturday Review. One is labeled for the Saturday Evening Post and one is labeled for the National Enquirer. The cartoons are most likely from the mid to late 1960s.

The cartoons range in size from 7 1/8" x 8 3/8" to 10 3/4" x 15". They were drawn on board with ink and watercolor. One cartoon was done in color watercolor.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption with four uncaptioned cartoons at the end of the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Dole, George, 1920-

Corporate Bodies

National enquirer.
Saturday evening post.
Saturday review.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Dole Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George Dole, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 6 June 1968
Revision history: 16 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 17 Sept 2009 - revised bio, added scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (25 cartoons)
Oversize 1, Folder 1 Captions A - F undated - ...And would you please refrain from using roman numerals in your zip code?; Courage sanity peace; Don't be rude Gerald. Sit somewhere else. This gentleman was here before us.; Don't worry it's a rotten apple.; For crying out loud, Angelo. Give up Tareytons!; Frankly, it was the tax aspect of this that intrigued me most.
"courage sanity peace" is a color cartoon.
Oversize 1, Folder 2 Captions H -J undated - He has a way with animals. They bring him nuts.; How did Harvard do yesterday?; I can't play now. The establishment says I have to do dishes.; I ran into a bit of luck.; I would like something to stop a gentleman from going to Lima, Peru.; Just a second.; Just why don't we fall off, Wendell?
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Captions S - W undated - Stop calling me mommie. I'm your Daddy.; Talk about deft.; Then I told her she had no supernatural powers at all.; Then you tink we've been too indulgent with him?; These kid parts are getting me down.; Why can't we have a car like everybody else?
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Captions Y; untitled undated - You're not listening to a word I'm saying.; You're right Mrs. Davis, he is a lousy dancer.contains 4 cartoons without captions.

Return to top