Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Detroit Photograph Album

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Detroit Photograph Album
Inclusive Dates: circa 1865
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Photograph album containing portrait photographs of African American residents of Detroit
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the creator of this album. In the years prior to the American Civil War, Detroit was an important site on the Underground Railroad; Michigan was a free territory, and its location just across the border from Canada made it a destination for Southern enslaved persons seeking freedom. Many Detroit African Americans served in the Civil War, and the 1st Michigan Colored Volunteer Infantry Regiment, later renamed the 102nd United States Colored Infantry Regiment, was recruited in large part from residents of Detroit. The city experienced a race riots in March of 1863 which resulted in two deaths and considerable property damage. Following the Civil War, African Americans were an important voting bloc and active politically.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Detroit Photograph Album consists of a quarto-size bound volume, with an embossed illustrated celluloid front board, figured red cloth covering the spine and back cover, and metal clasp. The pages are heavy cardstock, with cutout frames for the images. The album contains approximately twenty albumen photographs, portraits of well-dressed and evidently prosperous African-American men and women. Based on clothing and hair styles, the images date from the mid to late 19th century. None are identified by name. More than half of the portraits have Detroit photographer's marks, including "Sr. Clear", "Willard", "Eisenhardt", and "Hughes". Others include "J.B. Dettmer" (Cincinnati), "Wilson" (Chicago), and "Kruse" (New Bedford, Mass.)

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

African-Americans -- Photographs.
Portrait photographers -- United States.

Places

Detroit (Mich.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Albumen prints.
Photograph albums.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Detroit Photograph Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jan 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Oversize 1 Photograph album circa 1860

Return to top