Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

August Derleth Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: August Derleth Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1950-1995
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence between Derleth and author Nelson Bond, Arkham House book lists, Derleth Society newsletters, miscellanea.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

August Derleth (1909-1971) was an American anthologist, publisher and author from Sauk City, Wisconsin. Best known for being the first publisher of the works of H.P. Lovecraft, under his Arkham House imprint, Derleth also wrote more than 150 books in many genres, including history, historical fiction, mysteries, science fiction and more. His Sac Prairie Saga is a sprawling multi-genre exploration of life in his native Wisconsin. The August Derleth Society was formed in 1977, "to promote and preserve his memory."

Nelson Bond (1908-2006) was a Canadian-American author and an early writer of science fiction and fantasy. In addition to his many short stories, which were published primarily in pulp magazines such as Blue Book, he also wrote for radio, television and the stage.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The August Derleth Collection consists of August Derleth Society material, correspondence, memorabilia and miscellany.

The August Derleth Society material comprises a complete run of the Society's newsletter, from Vol. 1, no. 1 to Vol. 16, no. 4. The volumes are undated until 1994 (Volume 15), so the date range is uncertain. Assuming the newsletters were published continuously, that would date the first issue of Volume 1 to 1980. The Society material also includes a small amount of correspondence with its members and a few printed items such as fliers, brochures, membership postcard, etc.

Correspondence consists entirely of letters between Derleth and author Nelson Bond. Much of it relates to Arkham House's publication of Bond's short stories in various anthologies, but the men were also friends and colleagues so there is a good deal of personal conversation as well. The letters highlight both men's humor and skill with words.

Memorabilia contains a letter from Roderic Meng to Arkham House patrons regarding Derleth's death, a printed flyer listing Derleth's books with a photograph of Derleth and his children on the front, and a large publicity piece from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin for a 1992 program entitled "Wisconsin in His Bones: Remembering August Derleth."

A small amount of Miscellany completes the collection: several Arkham House book lists published by the company, and a typed list of Bond stories that appeared in anthologies edited by Derleth.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by topic/subject; within that, newsletters and correspondence are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction authors as well as pulp-related books and collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections and to the Classic Catalog for cataloged books, periodicals, fanzines and other works.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bond, Nelson Slade, 1908-
Derleth, August William, 1909-1971.

Corporate Bodies

Arkham House.
August Derleth Society.

Subjects

Fans (Persons)
Fantasy fiction -- Societies, etc.
Fantasy fiction, American.
Horror tales, American.
Novelists, American -- 20th century.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.
Science fiction -- Societies, etc.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Catalogs.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Newsletters.
Price lists.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

August Derleth Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Mar 2012
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

August Derleth Society
Box 1 Correspondence 1977, 1983-1988, 1990, 1995
Box 1 Newsletters 1980-1995 (5 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 Bond, Nelson 1950-1971
Memorabilia
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1992, undated
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Arkham House book lists
Box 1 Bond stories in Derleth-edited books

Return to top