Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles Dennis Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dennis, Charles H.
Title: Charles Dennis Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1955-1964.
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons, sketches, correspondence and published materials.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Houston Dennis (1921- ) is an American cartoonist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Dennis Collection contains original gag cartoons for various magazines, sketches and cartoon ideas, correspondence and published material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by magazine title. Untitled cartoons are arranged by type in folder labeled "Miscellaneous". Correspondence is foldered in alphabetical order. Other materials are sorted and foldered separately.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Dennis, Charles H.

Associated Titles

Dennis the sex menace.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Sex -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Dennis Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 6 June 1968
Revision history: 16 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 8 Oct 2009 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous, B-S 1956-1957, 1966
Comic strip cartoon ideas
Box 1 The Fallen Flowers - drawings with typescript captions and notes
Box 1 Horse opera - drawings with captions
Gag cartoons
Box 1 Affair
Box 1 Blue Book magazine 1955
Box 1 Heels 'n' Hose magazine
Box 1 Industrial Finishing magazine 1966, undated
Box 1 Man's Magazine 1963, 1964, undated
Box 1 M.R. magazine 1960, 1965, undated
Box 1 Rogue magazine undated
Box 1 Satan magazine undated
Box 1 Unattributed
Box 1 Miscellaneous color sketches
Box 1 Miscellaneous ink sketches
Box 1 Miscellaneous pencil sketches
Published material
Box 1 Cartoon Gag Writing Principles and Techniques 1955 - booklet, priced at $2.95
Box 1 Dennis the Sex Menace 1966 - "Sex to Sexty" book by SRI Publishing; collection of adult cartoons

Return to top