Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Cybis Porcelain Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cybis (Firm)
Title: Cybis Porcelain Records
Inclusive Dates: circa 1960-1970
Quantity: 30 linear ft.
Abstract: Business records, correspondence, catalogs, publications, etc. of the American porcelain manufacturer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cybis Porcelain, makers of fine china statuary and other pieces, was started in the 1920s by Boleslaw Cybis, a Lithuanian artist. Today Cybis porcelains are given as gifts of state and found in the permanent collections of museums, embassies, government buildings and art galleries around the world. [Taken from Cybis Porcelain website, http://www.cybisporcelain.info/ ]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cybis Porcelain Records contain business records, correspondence, catalogs, publications, etc. of the American porcelain manufacturer.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information. In addition, the collection may not be used without the written permission of the president of Cybis Porcelains. Any such written permissions must be retained by Special Collections Research Center.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cybis, Boleslaw, 1895-1957.

Corporate Bodies

Cybis (Firm)

Subjects

Porcelain figures -- United States.
Porcelain industry -- United States.
Porcelain, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Catalogs.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Price lists.

Occupations

Artists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cybis Porcelains Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph Chorlton, 1968-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Apr 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top