Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Cuban Imprints Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Cuban Imprints Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1993-1994
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Five limited-edition artists' books, published by Ediciones Vigía. Printed on brown wrapping paper, printed white paper overlays, bound with string ties. Six brochures for various Cuban artists from Banco de Ideas Z., printed on brown paper.
Language: Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ediciones Vigía, founded in 1985, is a collective of book artists in Matanzas, Cuba which brings together poets, writers, illustrators and designers. The small group of about fifteen people uses recycled and natural materials to create handmade books. Only 200 copies of each book are made, all produced at the same time, with each binding and text element added one-by-one. Most of the books use the standard Cuban government-issued, highly acidic tan paper. Illustrations are done by hand in pen and ink and reproduced on one of the collective's few machines, a photocopier or a mimeograph machine. The artists use recycled paper and cloth, as well as natural materials such as flowers, stones, dirt and leaves to create collage images for the covers. [Information taken from Ediciones Vigía website]

Banco de Ideas Z. is a non-profit arts center in Havana, Cuba whose aim is to promote Cuban independent artists. It publishes and promotes literary text compilations and the works of authors, book-artists (both individual and collective), dramatists, theater groups and so on.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cuban Imprints Collection consists of two series. Ediciones Vigía consists of five books published by Ediciones Vigía. Four appear to be plays; the fifth appears to be poetry. Each book is printed on rough brown or white paper with overlays of printed white paper, brown paper, and string, and bound with string ties. Illustrations are hand-colored. Banco de Ideas Z. comprises six gallery brochures or fliers, five printed on plain brown paper, the sixth on white paper, featuring various artists.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by publisher.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Fernández, René,1944-
Guerra, Charo, 1962-
Ruiz Montez, Laura.

Corporate Bodies

Banco de Ideas Z (Havana, Cuba)
Ediciones Vigía.

Associated Titles

Historia de burros.
Los ibeyis y el diablo.
Los inocentes.
Yo amo a este hombre viejo que a ratos le falta el aire.
¡tierra a la vista!

Subjects

Art, Cuban -- 20th century.
Artists -- Cuba.
Artists' books -- Cuba.
Authors -- Cuba.
Cuban drama.
Cuban literature.

Genres and Forms

Artists' books.
Books.
Fliers (printed matter)
Limited editions.

Occupations

Artists.
Authors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cuban Imprints Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ted Aiken, 2006.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 22 Aug 2006
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Ediciones Vigía
Fernández, René
SC 174/1 Historia de burros 1994
SC 174/1 Los ibeyis y el diablo 1993
SC 174/1 ¡Tierra a la vista! 1994
Guerra, Charo
SC 174/1 Los inocentes 1993
Ruiz Montez, Laura
SC 174/1 Yo amo a este hombre viejo que a ratos le falta el aire 1993
Banco de Ideas Z.
SC 174/2 Gallery fliers - artists represented are Enrique Lanza, Madelín Tamayo, Jose Garcia Montebravo, María de los Angeles Vidal, Osvaldo Castillo Vázquez, and Marcela Zequiera.

Return to top