Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection

A description of her collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cruse, Jen.
Title: Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection
Inclusive Dates: TBD
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of plastic hair combs
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jen Cruse is a collector, scholar, and writer on antique combs. She is the author of The Comb: Its History and Development (Robert Hale, 2007), and has a personal collection of well over 1,500 combs spanning nearly 2000 years.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection consists of 25 antique combs, with the collector's research notes.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A copy of Cruses's book, Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection is available in the Rare Books collection (View catalog record).

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cruse, Jen.

Subjects

Combs -- History.
Hair ornaments.

Genres and Forms

Combs (hair ornaments)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jen Cruse Antique Comb Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jen Cruse, 2018.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Sep 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top