Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Gib Crockett Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crockett, Gib.
Title: Gib Crockett Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1975
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original editorial cartoons, sketches, memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gib Crockett (1912-2000) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Gibson Crockett was born on September 18, 1912. He studied cartooning through a correspondence course and started working for the Washington Evening Star in 1933, under the direction of James Berryman. Initially Crockett drew illustrations, spot cartoons and sports cartoons. In the 1940s, his work began to alternate with James Berryman's on the editorial page. Eventually, Crockett replaced Berryman as editorial cartoonist in 1965 upon Berryman's retirement.

Crockett's illustrations promoting war bonds were recognized by the U.S. Treasury. He also received awards from the Freedoms Foundation and received the National Headliners Award (1957). A member of the American Art League of Washington, Crockett was also a painter.

Gib Crockett died at Montgomery General Hospital in Maryland on February 18, 2000.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gib Crockett Cartoons contains original artwork and a small amount of memorabilia.

Cartoons contains 12 editorial cartoons and one unfinished drawing for the Washington Star (previously known as the Washington Evening Star). Works vary in size and are often drawn with graphite, white pencil, crayon and ink. U.S. and international politics are the subjects of the editorial cartoons, including the Bobby Baker case, Ronald Reagan, Fidel Castro, Mao Zedong, communism and Pakistan.

Memorabilia, accumulated by Crockett's friend and fellow artist Francis C. Peters, contains a tribute to Crockett published in the 9 Feb 1975 issue of the Washington Star-News and several pieces of original artwork by him, including a caricature of Peters.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Castro, Fidel, 1926- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Crockett, Gib.
Mao, Zedong, 1893-1976 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

The Washington Evening Star.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
World politics -- 1964-1966 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1964-1966 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gib Crockett Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of David Norton, 1979.

Francis C. Peters memorabilia, gift of Carol Duncan, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SK
Date: 18 Nov 2010
Revision history: 18 Nov 2010 - created inventory (SK); 25 May 2011 - Edited bio, scope; added subject and genre headings (AM); 29 Sep 2015 - Carol Duncan gift added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (13 items)
Oversize 1 Original art 1964
Jul 13: "Laocoon": Barry Goldwater, Republican party
Oversize 1 Original art 1965
Feb 26: "Never saw hide nor hair of him!": Jordan, Bobby Baker case
May 18: "Out, damned spots! Out, I say!": Lennox Polk McLendon, Baker case, committee report
May 26: "The world's most select committee": Senate ethics investigation
Sep 22: "Here we go again!": Ronald Reagan, California Republican party
Sep 21: "It's not as comfortable as it looks!": Lal Bahadur Shastri, China, famine, United Nations, Pakistan, world news
Oct 21: "I've got my own rights to keep me wrong!": U.S. Constitution, Klu Klux Klan
Dec 6: "Love me love my dogma!": Mao Zedong, Leonid Brezhnev, Marxism, Leninism: additional sketch of same title
Oversize 1 Original art 1966
Mar 4: "It really isn't as dangerous as it looks!": Britain, Harold Wilson
Mar 10: "If it hadn't been for me they'd be French - and it would serve them right!": Nelson's Pillar, Ireland
Mar 16: "I just can't stand idiots!" Mao Zedong, Fidel Castro, communism
May 4: "But don't go near the water!": Senate ethics comittee, Thomas Dodd case, reform
Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Francis C. Peters 1967, 1971, 1975
Gift of Carol Duncan, 2014.
Peters was a friend and colleague of Crockett's. This folder, donated by Peters' daughter, contains a tribute to Crockett published in the Washington Star-News (9 Feb 1975) and three pieces of original artwork by Crockett: a sketch of an artist painting an image of the Washington Monument, a colored caricature portrait of Peters (1971), and a political cartoon entitled "Crime? What Crime?" which appeared in the Washington Star on 25 May 1967.

Return to top