Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John H. Crider Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crider, John Henshaw, 1906-
Title: John H. Crider Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1868-1966
Quantity: 2.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American newspaper journalist, editor, and author. Collection includes correspondence (1925-1966); research files; and writings, including articles, book outlines and manuscripts, editorials, essays, and speeches.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John H. Crider (1906-??) was an American newspaper journalist, editor, and author. While at the Boston Herald he won the 1949 Pulitzer Prize for Journalism for distinguished editorial writing.

Born in Mount Vernon, New York, Crider attended the Virginia Military Institute and the Pulitzer School of Journalism at Columbia University. He was one of two seniors in the School of Journalism who were the first students to be given a part-time job on the city staff of the New York Times during their senior year. He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University (1940-1941).

Crider served on the news staff of the New York Times for 19 years. The last ten were spent with its Washington Bureau where he covered the White House during the latter years of Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency. From 1946 to 1951 Crider was editor-in-chief of the Boston Herald, where his editorial writing won several award including a Pulitzer Prize (for "distinguished editorial writing") in 1949. He also appeared on two regular television programs in Boston and for a time was a CBS news analyst for that city.

In 1959 Crider was a member of the United States delegation to the Atlantic Conference in London where a paper of his, proposing an economic program for the NATO nations, was an important item on the agenda.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John H. Crider Papers consist of biographical material, memorabilia, printed material, subjects files, and writings.

Memorabilia contains photographs and Crider's war correspondent license for 1956.

Subject files include correspondence, photographs, news clippings, and miscellaneous printed material. Notable correspondents include Dwight D. Eisenhower, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Robert Frost. Also included in the collection is a signed letter from Horace Greeley, owned by Crider.

Writings contains articles, books, editorials, essays, speeches, and miscellaneous other writings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Writings are subdivided by type and arranged within that by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several manuscript collections of noted journalists and war correspondents. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Crider, John Henshaw, 1906-, -- Archives.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Journalism -- Authorship.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc. -- Editorials.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Editorials.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches.

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John H. Crider Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DMB
Date: 29 Nov 1978
Revision history: 12 Jan 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical data
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Memorabilia
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Printed material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Subject files
Box 1 American Society of Newspaper Editors 1947-1949
Box 1 Barron's National Business and Financial Weekly 1952-1955
Box 1 Bell, Elliott V. 1951-1955
Box 1 Byrd, Richard E. (Admiral) 1947-1949
Box 1 Coatesville Conference on Economic Freedoms 1960
Box 1 Columbia University School of Journalism 1937-1963
Box 1 Correspondence 1925-1966, undated (8 folders)
Box 1 Crider's first assignment 1927
Box 1 Douglas, William O. 1940-1952
Box 1 Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1949-1953
Box 1 Freedom of the press 1948-1951
Box 1 Gillis, Ann 1948-1951
Box 1 Gruenther, Alfred M. 1950-1953
Box 1 Herter, Christian A. 1947-1950
Box 1 Horace Greeley letter 1868
Box 1 International Bank for Reconstruction and Development 1947-1948
Box 1 International Chamber of Commerce Editorial Award 1949
Box 1 Jones, Jesse 1949
Box 1 Krock, Arthur 1941-1964
Box 1 Lippincott, J. B. and Co. 1952
Box 1 Lyons-Kennedy incident 1940
Box 1 National Military Establishment, Joint Civilian Orientation Conference 1949
Box 1 Nevins, Allan, Mandate for Change 1963
Box 1 Nieman Fellows 1939-1963
Box 1 Nigeria 1959-1962
Box 1 Norwood Housing Trust (George F. Willett) 1927-1952
Box 1 Pitkin formula, psychology of reader interest
Box 1 Port Said assignment
Box 1 Pries, Harold 1948-1955
Box 1 Pulitzer Prize 1947-1949
Box 1 Raymond Clapper Memorial Award 1950
Box 1 Reader's Digest 1943-1962
Box 1 Resignation from Boston Herald 1951-1952 (2 folders)
Box 1 Robie, Richard S. 1948-1952
Box 1 Saltonstall, Leverett (Senator) 1947-1951
Box 1 Sigma Delta Chi Award 1950
Box 1 Sulzberger, Arthur Hays 1940-1955
Box 1 Talouselama Economic Weekly 1938-1939
Box 1 Television and radio 1950-1954
Box 1 Thank-you letters 1950-1951
Box 1 TWA Press Flight 1950-1952
Box 1 United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference 1944
Box 1 Vinson, Fred 1946-1948
Box 1 Western trip 1949
Box 1 Whaley, P. H. 1947-1954
Box 1 Wigglesworth, Richard B. 1947-1950
Box 1 Willoughby, Woodbury 1949-1951
Box 1 Wright, John (Bishop) 1947-1954
Writings
Articles
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Rejected
Articles for magazines (by publication title)
Box 2 America; The American; The American Mercury; Barron's (3 folders)
Box 2 The Bulletin; The Cadet; The Concord Journal
Box 2 Editor and Publisher; Finance; The Freeman; Goegraphical Magazine; International News Service
Box 2 Issues; Nation's Business; New York Times; Nieman Reports
Box 2 Reader's Digest; The Republican; Saturday Review; Scientific American; Tax Magazine
Books
Box 2 Being a newspaperman - draft
Box 2 The bureaucrat circa 1944 - published material
Box 2 Can we survive the sixties as free men - outline
Box 2 Government by deceit - outline, typescript
Box 2 Just about people - typescript
Box 2 New world rising - rough draft
Box 2 Untitled - typescript (2 folders)
Box 2 The White House years - page proofs, incomplete
Editorials
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Essays
Box 2 A-S (3 folders)
Box 3 T-W
Miscellany
Box 3 Assorted writings
Speeches
Box 3 Miscellaneous 1941-1954 (2 folders)

Return to top