Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Donald Coyle Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1954-1965 |
| Quantity: | 4 folders (SC) |
| Abstract: | Clippings, internal reports on various industries or clients/potential clients |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Donald Coyle (1922-2005) was a Canadian television executive. He joined American Broadcasting / Paramount Theatres (which later became ABC) in 1950, where he pioneered new methods of market research for the then-new organization. In 1958 he was named to head ABC's new international division. Under his leadership, the division launched more than 70 stations in South America, Canada, Central America, the Caribbean, the Far East, and the Middle East. He also founded his own consulting firm, International Communications, Inc. and served as executive vice president of Network CTV in Toronto from 1975 to 1981. He retired to North Carolina in 1981. [Information taken from Coyle's obituary in Charleston's The Post and Courier, January 2005.]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Donald Coyle Collection contains clippings, correspondence, and internal reports.
Clippings contains clippings from newspapers and magazines on Coyle, ABC, and/or television generally.
Correspondence contains a single item, a memo to employees.
Reports contains internal reports on various industries or clients/potential clients.
Arrangement of the Collection
Alphabetical by type of material. Within that, clippings are arranged chronologically and reports alphabetically by title.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Donald Coyle Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jan 2018
Revision history:
Inventory
| Clippings | |||||||||||
| SC 820 | Clippings, miscellaneous 1954-1965, undated | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| SC 820 | Internal memo 1959 - announcing Coyle's appointment as head of international division | ||||||||||
| Reports | |||||||||||
| SC 820 | Comparative radio network coverage analysis 1952 - "...study of network radio audience changes ...during the past year..." | ||||||||||
| SC 820 | A-Z, miscellaneous 1949-1950 | ||||||||||
| Aviation manufacturing industry; Anheuser-Busch 1949 fiscal review; Anheuser-Busch new business approaches; Central Bag and Burlap Company review; Philip Morris & Co. 1949 fiscal review; Colonial Airlines report prepared for directors' meeting; Pan American World Airways 1949 fiscal review; Park & Tilford 6 months summary; Television (includes mentions of major telecommunications companies and the movie industry) | |||||||||||