Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Council of National Organizations Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Council of National Organizations (U.S.)
Title: Council of National Organizations Records
Inclusive Dates: 1951-1966
Quantity: 14.0 linear ft.
Abstract: The Council of National Organizations gathers information on educational agencies for public use. Collection includes general files containing correspondence and printed material on member groups.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Council of National Organizations for Adult Education (CNO) was founded in 1952 as a subsidiary organization of the American Education Association of the USA, or AEA-USA (now the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education or AAACE). "to establish closer communication and exchange of experience between organizations and individuals working in different fields." Its primary function was to gather information on educational agencies for public use.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Council of National Organizations Records contains a single series, General files. Most of the material ison specific councils, organizations, associations, U.S. government departments, etc., and the folders contain either correspondence or printed information.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The files remain in the order they were received, and are in neither alphabetical nor chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and records of numerous organizations and individuals relating to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The interested researcher may also wish to refer to the Alexander Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults (http://scrc.syr.edu/charterslibrary).

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Council of National Organizations (U.S.) -- Archives.
Council of National Organizations (U.S.) -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Adult education -- Information services.
Adult education -- Societies, etc.
Adult education -- United States.
Education -- Information services.
Education -- Societies, etc.
Education -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes.
Newsletters.

Occupations

Adult education.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Council of National Organizations Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: circa 1970
Revision history: 10 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

General files
Box 1 Clearing House Committee 1952
Box 1 Education for Democracy, Committee on 1952
Box 1 Nominating Committee 1953-1955 (3 folders)
Box 1 Participants, Committee on 1953
Box 1 Participating Organizations, Committee on 1952
Box 2 Nominating Committee 1952
Box 2 Local-National Communication on Adult Education
Box 2 Executive Committee 1953-1955 (3 folders)
Box 2 Planning Committee - General 1952
Box 2 Financial Statements 1954
Box 2 Budget 1953
Box 2 Finance - Waldie, Aieleen
Box 2 Fund for Adult Education 1952, 1953
Box 2 Materials Evaluation
Box 2 Television 1955
Box 2 Television Committee June 1953 and 1954
Box 2 Educational TV Work Session Jan., 1953
Box 2 TV Conference Sept. 7, 1954
Box 2 Educational TV Minutes and Reports 1952, 1953
Box 2 TV Meeting - Chicago, Washington, New York
Box 2 Hancock Foundation, Allan
Box 2 Educational TV - Administration 1953
Box 2 Educational TV - Promotion
Box 2 National Information Bureau
Box 2 National Association of Public School Educators (NAPSAE)
Box 2 National Social Welfare Assembly
Box 2 Students and Studies and Jobs to 1955
Box 2 Test Cities
Box 2 Newsletter Committee 1952
Box 2 Materials Packets - Evaluations and Comments Program Guide 1954
Box 2 Program Guide 1955-1956
Box 2 Sales TV - A New Community Resource
Box 2 Invitations 1954
Box 2 Invitations to Participate 1953
Box 2 Council Meeting 1957
Box 2 Committees, discontinued
Box 3 Finance Committee 1955, 1959
Box 3 Finance Committee
Box 3 Finance Interpretation Meetings - invitations, responses
Box 3 Financial Statements 1955-1957 (2 folders)
Box 3 Proposed New Letterhead Feb., 1962
Box 3 Fund For Adult Education 1953-1957
Box 3 Fund for Adult Education proposals
Box 3 Annual Meeting
Box 3 Council Meeting Arrangements 1956
Box 3 Council Meeting - Master File 1955
Box 3 Annual Meeting - Work Groups 1955
Box 3 Work Groups 1954
Box 3 1954 Meeting - Master File Material
Box 3 1954 Council Meeting Committee Planning
Box 3 1953 Conference - Master File of Material
Box 3 Conference Work Groups 1953
Box 3 Conference - Master File of Material 1952
Box 3 Conference - Work Groups 1952
Box 3 Dr. Lindeman's Speech, Council Meeting 1952
Box 3 National Council for Community Improvement
Box 3 NAM Educational Advisory Council
Box 3 National Project in Agricultural Communications
Box 3 Organizations, Council of National Organizations of Adult Education Association of the U.S.
Box 3 New York University Cooperation
Box 3 Nominating 1961
Box 3 Nominating, Robert Allen 1961
Box 3 Nominating Committee 1960
Box 4 Annual Meeting 1964
Box 4 Adult Education Association
Box 4 Correspondence "A"
Box 4 Correspondence "B"
Box 4 Budgets 1964-1965
Box 4 Untitled Folder
Box 4 Correspondence "C"
Box 4 Correspondence "D"
Box 4 Correspondence "E"
Box 4 Executive Committee Meetings
Box 5 Correspondence "F"
Box 5 Correspondence "G"
Box 5 Correspondence "H"
Box 5 Correspondence "I" and "J"
Box 5 Correspondence "K" and "L"
Box 5 Correspondence "M" and "N"
Box 5 Member Organizations 1964-1965
Box 5 Miscellaneous Conferences 1964-1965
Box 5 Correspondence "O", "P", and "Q"
Box 5 Publications 1964-1965
Box 5 Correspondence "R"
Box 5 Correspondence "S"
Box 5 Correspondence "T"
Box 5 Correspondence "U", "V", and "W"
Box 5 Correspondence "X", "Y", and "Z"
Box 5 Probing Volunteer-Staff Relations
Box 5 Voluntary Giving for Community Health and Welfare Services
Box 5 Miscellaneous papers
Leaflets
Eternal light
Box 5 Council of National Organizations for Adult Education
Box 5 Office of Community Advisory Services
Box 5 Council of National Organizations for Adult Education
Box 5 Citizens Committees...for Better Schools
Box 5 Services for Families Living in Public Housing Advertisement
Box 6 Council Meeting - Special June 22, 1959
Box 6 Council Meeting, Arrangements 1959
Box 6 Council Meeting Planning Committee 1960
Box 6 Council Meeting 1958
Box 6 Delegate Assembly Slate 1961
Box 6 Delegate Assembly, DALarge 1960
Box 6 Delegate Assembly Slate 1959
Box 6 Delegates-at-Large, D.A. 1959
Box 6 Development Plan, Questionnaire Re:
Box 6 Development Plan
Box 6 Education - Ad Hoc
Box 6 Education - Community Relations Institute 1955
Box 6 First National City Bank through 1957
Box 6 Inter Association 1958-1959
Box 6 Inter Association Conference 1956-1957
Box 6 Inter Association, Chicago
Box 6 Inter Association, Atlantic City 1955
Box 6 International Project Committee
Box 6 International Project 1957-1960
Box 6 Israel Adult Education Seminar
Box 6 Kaplan, Abbott
Box 6 Leadership Development 1959
Box 6 Leadership of National Organizations on the U.S. Scene 1960
Box 6 Liberal Curriculum Project Paid Bills
Box 6 Liberal Curriculum - Publishers
Box 6 Liberal Curriculum to Sept. 1959
Box 6 Leadership Development 1957-1958
Box 6 Leadership Seminar 1958
Box 7 Broadcasting Committee - radio, TV project
Box 7 Broadcasting Committee - radio to Sept., 1959
Box 7 Broadcasting Committee 1957-1958
Box 7 Budgets 1952-1957 (2 folders)
Box 7 Business Industry Conference May 25, 1959
Box 7 Business Industry Conference Oct. 6-7, 1958
Box 7 Business Education Conference Dec. 11, 1957
Box 7 Business Education Conference June 1958
Box 7 Chicago - City Meetings 1956-1960
Box 7 New York - City Meetings 1956
Box 7 Washington - City Meetings 1956
Box 7 Meetings - New York City 1954-1955
Box 7 AEA Conference 1961
Box 7 AEA Conference 1960
Box 7 Conference Group of U.S. National Organizations on the United Nations
Box 7 Consultants' Panel
Box 7 Controversial Issues 1955, 1956
Box 7 Controversial Issues Workshop Oct. 1956
Box 7 Controversial Issues 1957, 1958
Box 7 Controversial Subjects, Techniques on Handling 1954
Box 7 Council Meeting, Arrangements 1961
Box 7 Council Meeting, Program 1961
Box 7 Council Meeting Committee 1961
Box 7 Council Meeting, L. Hein's Original Report 1961
Box 7 Council Meeting Program 1960
Box 7 Council Meeting Arrangements 1960
Box 7 Council Meeting 1959
Box 7 Proceedings: Council of National Organizations of the Adult Education Association of the United States (1 volume)
Box 7 Council Meeting, Program 1959
Box 8 Council Of Chief State School Officers
Box 8 Evangelical United Brethren Church
Box 8 Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
Box 8 Federal Union, Inc.
Box 8 Film Council of America
Box 8 Friends Council on Education
Box 8 General Federation of Women's' Clubs Girls' Clubs of America, Inc.
Box 8 Girls Friendly Society of the U.S.A. Great Books Foundation
Box 8 Household Finance Corporation
Box 8 Industrial Audio Visual Association
Box 8 Industrial Relations Counselors, Inc.
Box 8 Institute of International Education
Box 8 Joint Council on Educational Television
Box 8 W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Box 8 Lions International
Box 8 League of Women Voters
Box 8 National Art Education Association of the NEA
Box 8 National Association and Council of Business Schools
Box 8 National Association of County Agricultural Agents
Box 8 National Association of Educational Broadcasters
Box 8 National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE)
Box 8 National Association of Social Workers
Box 8 National Audubon Society
Box 8 National Catholic Rural Life Conference
Box 8 National Civil Service League
Box 8 National CIO Community Services Committee
Box 8 National Congress of Colored Parents and Teachers
Box 8 National Congress of Parents and Teachers
Box 8 National Council of Catholic Women
Box 8 National Council of Naturalization and Citizenship
Box 8 National Education Association, Division of Lay Relationships
Box 8 National Farmers Union
Box 8 National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
Box 8 National Federation of Music Clubs
Box 8 National Federation of Settlements and Neighborhood Centers
Box 8 National Grange, The
Box 8 National Kindergarten Association
Box 8 National League of Nursing Education
Box 8 National Municipal League
Box 8 National Planning Association
Box 8 National Publicity Council for Health and Welfare
Box 8 National Safety Council
Box 8 National School Boards Association
Box 8 National Society for Crippled Children and Adults
Box 8 National Thrift Committee
Box 8 National Urban League
Box 8 National Vocational Agricultural Teachers Association, Inc.
Box 8 National Women's' Forum, Inc.
Box 8 Office of Civil Defense Mobilization
Box 8 Newsweek Club Bureau
Box 8 Presbyterian Board of Christian Education
Box 8 Presbyterian Institute of Industrial Relations
Box 8 Protestant Episcopal Church, Department of Christian Education
Box 8 Public Affairs Committee
Box 8 Public Relations Society of America
Box 8 Race Relations Department, Congregational Christian Churches
Box 8 Religious Education Association
Box 8 Science Service
Box 8 Seventh Day Adventists
Box 8 Special Libraries Association
Box 8 Speech Association of America
Box 8 Tennessee Valley Authority
Box 8 Training Within Industry Foundation
Box 8 Twentieth Century Fund
Box 8 United Automobile Workers, CIO
Box 8 U.S. Civil Service Commission
Box 8 U.S. Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics
Box 8 Bureau of Prisons, Dept. of Justice
U.S. Dept. of Defense
Box 8 Department of the Air Force
Box 8 Coast Guard
Box 8 U.S. Marine Corps
Box 8 Department of the Navy
Box 8 Office of Armed Forces Information and Education
Box 8 U.S. Office of Education, F.S.A., Home Economics Education Service
Box 8 U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service
Box 8 U.S. Department of Labor, Women's Bureau
Box 8 U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs
Box 8 U.S. Department of State
Box 8 Veterans Administration
Box 8 World Goodwill
Box 8 CNO News, Pre-1960 (1 envelope)
Box 8 AEA Membership Campaign, National Organizations 1958, 1959
Box 8 American Assembly
Box 8 Balance Sheets 1958-1960
Box 8 Broadcasting Committee 1959
Box 8 Broadcasting Committee - Television
Box 8 ABC Radio Sept., 1959
Box 9 Project "Task Force"
Box 9 California Task Force
Box 9 "Project Task Force"
Box 9 FAE News Digest
Box 9 Founding Documents
Box 9 American Academy of Political and Social Science
Box 9 American Alumni Council
Box 9 Hayes Beall
Box 9 World Affairs Survey
Box 9 American Association of Group Workers
Box 9 American Association for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
Box 9 American Association for the Advancement of Science
Box 9 American Association of Junior Colleges
Box 9 American Association of Land-Grant Colleges and State Universities
Box 9 American Association of Museums
Box 9 American Association of Psychiatric Social Workers, Inc.
Box 9 American Association of School Administrators
Box 9 American Automobile Association
Box 9 American Bar Association
Box 9 American Council for the Community
Box 9 American Council on Education
Box 9 American Craftsmen's Education Council
Box 9 American Dental Association
Box 9 American Diabetes Association, Inc.
Box 9 American Dietetic Association
Box 9 American Education Fellowship
Box 9 American Farm Bureau Federation
Box 9 American Federation of the Arts
Box 9 American Federation of Labor / Congress of Industrial Organizations
Box 9 American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees
Box 9 American Federation of Teachers
Box 9 American Jewish Congress
Box 9 American Labor Education Service
Box 9 American Medical Association
Box 9 American Planning and Civic Association
Box 9 American Physical Therapy Association
Box 9 American Political Science Association
Box 9 American Psychiatric Association
Box 9 American Psychological Association
Box 9 American Public Health Association, Inc.
Box 9 American Savings and Loan Institute
Box 9 American Society of Training Directors
Box 9 American Veterans Committee
Box 9 American Vocational Association, Inc.
Box 9 Association for Study of Community Organization
Box 9 Association for Education by Radio, Television
Box 9 Association of American Colleges
Box 9 Association of American Evening Colleges
Box 9 Big Brothers of America
Box 9 Boy Scouts of America
Box 9 Carnegie Corporation of 4eW York
Box 9 Catholic Association for International Peace
Box 9 Child Study Association of America
Box 9 Church of the Brethren, Christian Education Commission, General Brotherhood Board
Box 9 Committee for Economic Development
Box 9 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine
Box 9 Congregational Christian Churches, Division of Christian Education
Box 9 Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
Box 9 Correctional Education Association
1954 Conference
Box 10 Minutes
Box 10 Lists
Box 10 Memos
Box 10 Committees
Box 10 Program Guide
Box 10 Projected Plans 1954-1956
Box 10 Correspondence 1953-1954
Box 10 Budget Summary Feb. 1, 1953 to Dec. 31, 1954
Box 10 Undated Materials
Box 10 Finance Committee 1960
Box 10 Television Committee 1952-1954
Box 10 Conference Dec. 5-6, 1952
Box 10 Organizations Interested in CNO
Box 10 Some CNO Minutes 1951-1954
Box 10 CNO Correspondence 1951-1952
Box 10 AEA Core Organizational Services April 1954
Box 10 C - General 1951-1954
Box 10 B - General 1951-1954
Box 10 American Library Association 1951-1954
Box 10 CNO Conference 1953
Box 10 Miscellaneous Material
Box 10 Council of National Organizations for Adult Education (2 volumes)
Box 10 Executive Committee Meeting Monday, Oct. 5, 1964
Box 10 Membership (correspondence) 1964
Box 10 Merrifield Book
Box 10 Official Organizations Representatives to CNO
Box 10 Volunteer Staff Relations Kit
Box 10 Council of National Organizations for Adult Education (one volume)
Box 10 Annual Meeting of the CNO 1963
Box 10 CNO Annual Conference Oct. 13-14, 1962
Box 10 CNO 1964
Box 10 AEA
Box 10 John Herring (CNO)
Box 10 Treasurer (Keller) Correspondence
Box 10 Annual Meeting Dec. 7-9, 1964
Box 10 Annual Meeting, Reports and Minutes 1964
Box 10 Annual Business Meeting Dec. 8, 1964
Box 10 Annual Meeting Invitation Replies 1964
Box 10 General Outline for Annual Meeting Dec. 7-8, 1964
Box 10 Annual Conference Planning Committee 1964
Box 10 Executive Committee Correspondence
Box 10 Executive Committee March 9, 1964
Box 10 Executive Committee May 11, 1964
Box 10 Executive Committee Meeting Sept. 14, 1964
Box 11 Workshop on Programmed Instruction April 30, 1963
Box 11 Financial Statement and Dues Paid by Members 1963
Box 11 "An Organization Self-Inventory" by Dorothy Parr
Box 11 Pre-Publication Offer
Box 11 Annual Meeting Announcement 1963
Box 11 Nominating Committee Report and Elections 1963
Box 11 Annual Meeting Program Dec. 12-13, 1963
Box 11 Executive Meeting, Washington, D.C. 1963
Box 11 A Tool for Probing Volunteer-Staff Relations: An Organization Self-Inventory 1963
Box 11 Change of Address Forms 1963
Box 11 Leaflets
Box 11 List of Members 1963
Box 11 Preliminary Workshop Announcement, CNO Workshop April, 30, 1963
Box 11 Copy from Committee Chairman for October CNO Newsletter 1963
Box 11 CNO Membership Committee 1962-1963
Box 11 CNO News 1963
Box 11 Nominating Committee 1963
Box 11 Project Committee 1963
Box 11 Booklet Requests 1963
Box 11 Mailing Lists 1963
Box 11 Requests 1962-1963
Box 11 Stationery 1963
Box 11 Proposals Relating t o purposes and Structure to AEA - USA 1963
Box 11 AEA Membership and Subscript ion Forms
Box 11 Leadership in Voluntary Enterprise
Box 11 Volunteer - Staff Relations Committee 1963
Box 11 Correspondence 1963
Box 11 Memo to : Executive Committee Members
Box 11 Executive Committee 1963
Box 11 Kit
Box 11 Materials Exchange Service Correspondence
Box 11 Materials Exchange Service 1963
Box 11 Annual Meeting - Convention Bids
Box 11 Annual Meeting 1964
Box 11 Annual Meeting 1963
Box 11 Agenda for CNO Executive Committee Meeting 1963
Box 11 Membership 1963
Box 11 BEC President 1962-1963
Box 11 Petty Cash Statements 1962-1963
Box 11 Re-organization
Box 11 Planning Committee
Box 11 Council of National Organizations - Conference in Washington, D.C. Nov., 1961
Box 11 Correspondence with CNO membership 1966
Box 11 Council of National Organizations
Box 11 Correspondence, Member Participation 1958-1962
Box 11 Miscellaneous Material
Box 12 Miscellaneous Material
Box 12 An Alphabetical Listing, A-Z
Box 12 Participation Committee through 1958
Box 12 Participation Rejected 1954-1959
Box 12 Participation - Business Affiliates - Miscellaneous
Box 13 Miscellaneous Material
Box 13 Non-current CNO Committees, A-H
Box 13 CNO Notebook
Box 13 Executive Committee, Notebook Dec. 1954-1959
Box 13 Non-Current CNO Committees, P-Z Notebook
Box 13 Executive Committee, Meetings Material, Notebook 1957-1959
Box 13 CNO Executive Committee, Notebook 1951-1954
Box 13 Progress Reports, Annual Meeting Reports, Notebook
Box 13 Non-Current CNO Committees, I-0 Notebook
Box 13 OP Process Budgets, Partial Lists, Notebooks
Box 13 Council of National Organizations 1955
Box 13 Directory
Box 13 Exchange Packet 1955
Box 13 Executive Committee Minutes 1955
Box 13 CNO News 1955
Box 13 CNO Work Plan, June through December 1955
Box 13 Other Reports 1955
Box 13 Participant s
Box 13 Proposal of Need
Box 13 Television 1955
Box 13 News 1956-1958
Box 13 Council Broadcasting Committee
Box 13 Directory
Box 13 Conference 1956
Box 13 Exchange Packet 1956
Box 13 Council of National Organizations 1956
Box 13 Miscellaneous
Box 13 Executive Committee Minutes 1956
Box 13 Inter-Association Conference
Box 13 Participants
Box 13 1955-1956 Program Guide
Box 13 Seminar
Box 13 Projected Plans 1954-1956
Box 14 Correspondence - General, Delegates-at-Large, E.S.
Box 14 Correspondence to Executive Committees, to Membership
Box 14 One unlabeled folder
Box 14 Correspondence
Box 14 News Correspondence re: E.S.
Box 14 To Answer, E.S.
Box 14 Correspondence - Treasurer (Keller), Expense Accounts, E.S.
Box 14 One Unlabeled folder
Box 14 Executive Committee and Special Meetings
Box 14 Packet Survey 1962
Box 14 Lists: Executive Committee, Participant Members, Correspondence re: Memberships
Box 14 Minutes - Board of Trustee's Meeting Nov. 1961, Jan. 1962
Box 14 Constitution, By-Laws Jan. 1962, Revision Oct. 1962
Box 14 Ed Keller - Treasurer
Box 14 Materials Exchange
Box 14 three unlabeled folders
Box 14 Experiment in Liberal Curriculum Development for National Organization Leadership
Box 14 Creative leadership in Voluntary Enterprise
Box 14 Leadership Development through Community Education
Box 14 Leading Group Discussion (2 volumes)
Box 14 CNO
Box 14 One unlabeled folder
Box 14 CNO
Box 14 Minutes - Executive Committee Meetings
Box 14 Unlabeled folder
Box 14 News
Box 15 Constitution and By-Laws
Box 15 President's Letter
Box 15 Service Fees 1962
Box 15 Fund for Adult Education 1958
Box 15 Unfiled Miscellaneous Data, Correspondence 1964-1965
Box 15 Treasurer's...
Box 15 Leadership in Voluntary Enterprise - Promotion
Box 15 Liberal Curriculum Steering Committee
Box 15 Liberal Curriculum August, 1960
Box 15 Leadership in Voluntary Enterprise Nov. 1960
Box 15 Leadership in Voluntary Enterprise, Oceana Publications
Box 15 Miscellaneous Material
Box 15 Council of National Organizations for Adult Education
Box 15 Friends of CNO
Box 15 Jensen, Glenn 1959
Box 15 Special Gifts Campaign, Participating Organizations 1962
Box 15 Delegate-at-Large Slate 1962
Box 15 AEA-CNO Liaison Committee
Box 15 Liberal Curriculum - Steering Committee
Box 15 Biographies - Representatives, Alternatives 1961
Box 15 Trustees
Box 15 Legal Documents
Box 15 Israel Sweet
Box 15 Newsletter
Box 15 Newsletter
Box 15 Liberal Curriculum - Columbia University
Box 15 Executive Committee 1962
Box 15 Incorporation
Box 15 AEA Membership Campaign 1962
Box 15 Personnel Manual

Return to top