Finding Aids
printer friendly version

A. E. Coppard Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Coppard, A. E. (Alfred Edgar),1878-1957.
Title: A. E. Coppard Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1921-1952
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the English short story writer, poet. Collection consists of 55 outgoing letters (1921-1952); holograph short story manuscripts; and a typescript speech for the opening of the Authors' World Peace Appeal Conference, 1951. Recipients of letters include Frederick T. Bason, Adrian Brunel, Lawrence Drake, Gilbert H. Fabes, Robert Greacen, Isaac Levine, Bruce Marshall, Frederic Prokosch, and Jacob Schwartz, among others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfred Edgar Coppard (1878-1957) was an English author and poet. He is regarded by some as one of the finest short-story writers in the English language.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. E. Coppard Collection consists of correspondence and manuscripts.

Correspondence is outgoing only. Recipients of the letters include Frederick T. Bason, Adrian Brunel, Lawrence Drake, Gilbert H. Fabes, Robert Greacen, Isaac Levine, Bruce Marshall, Frederic Prokosch, and Jacob Schwartz. Subjects discussed include his poetry and other writings, the salfe of his manuscripts, the possibility of dramatic or film adaptations, works in progress, planned writing, and activities of the Authors' Peace Appeal.

Manuscripts are three short stories in annotated longhand -- "Silver Circus," "Ugly Anna," and "You Never Know, Do You?" There is also an annotated typescript of his 1951 statements for the Authors' World Peace Appeal Conference, in which he called for an end to the Korean conflict.

One miscellaneous item of Memorabilia is a check endorsed by Coppard,.

For additional information on this collection, see "The A. E. Coppard Papers at Syracuse" in The Courier, vol. 9, no. 3 (April 1972), pp. 32-37.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically. Memorabilia and writings are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the George Brandon Saul Papers for additional Coppard material.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bason, Frederick T.
Brunel, Adrian.
Coppard, A. E. (Alfred Edgar), 1878-1957.
Drake, Lawrence.
Fabes, Gilbert Henry, 1894-
Greacen, Robert.
Levine, Isaac Don, 1892-
Marshall, Bruce, 1899-
Prokosch, Frederic, 1908-1989.
Schwartz, Jacob.

Corporate Bodies

Authors' World Peace Appeal Conference.

Subjects

Authors, English -- Political activity.
Authors, English -- Political and social views.
English literature -- 20th century.
Korean War, 1950-1953 -- Political activity.
Pacifism.
Pacifists.
Poets, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Pacifists.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. E. Coppard Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Manuscripts gift of Lily Anne Coppard, 1964.

Correspondence purchased, 1964-1979.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1970
Revision history: Jun 1967 - revised (EL); 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Outgoing 1921-1936, 1948-1952,
Manuscripts
Short stories
Box 1 Rifki 1928[?]
Box 1 Ugly Anna 1944
Box 1 You Never Know, Do You? 1944
Speeches
Box 1 Statement for Authors' World Peace Appeal Conference 1951
Memorabilia
Box 1 Check from the Authors' Syndicate, Ltd., endorsed by Coppard 20 Nov 1924

Return to top