Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

La Coppa d'Oro [The Golden Cup] Manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Soffredini, Alfredo, 1854-1923.
Title: La Coppa d'Oro [The Golden Cup] Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: before 1900
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten manuscript of the libretto for a "dramma lirico" entitled "La Coppa d'Oro", presumably by Alfredo Soffredini
Language: Italian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfredo Soffredini (1854-1923) was an Italian composer, teacher and musical critic. He founded the Instituto Musicale di Livorno (later called Istituto Cherubini). "Dramma lirico" (in French, "drame lyrique") was a term used in the mid-19th century to refer to operas that were neither comique nor grand.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The La Coppa d'Oro [The Golden Cup] Manuscript is a handwritten manuscript of the libretto for a "dramma lirico" in two acts entitled La Coppa d'Oro, presumably by Alfredo Soffredini. The manuscript is undated and unsigned, but is a clean copy with no edits or alterations. Composed of five sheets folded to form ten leaves, it appears to be complete, beginning with "Personaggi" and "Argomento" and ending with "Fine dell Mellodramma".

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Soffredini, Alfredo, 1854-1923.

Associated Titles

La coppa d'oro.

Subjects

Operas -- 19th century.
Operas -- Librettos.

Genres and Forms

Librettos (documents for music)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

La Coppa d'Oro [The Golden Cup] Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books. Original date and source of acquisition unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Nov 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 858 Libretto, La Coppa d'Oro before 1900

Return to top