Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

David P. Conner Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Conner, David, 1792-1856.
Title: David P. Conner Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1807-1889
Quantity: 0.3 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of an officer in the United States Navy with his wife, sister, and brother (who appears to have managed some of Conner's property).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David P. Conner (1792-1856) was an American Naval officer.

1792 Born in Pennsylvania, the son of an Irish immigrant
16 Jan 1809 Began U.S. Naval career as a Midshipman
1812 Taken prisoner by the British (was later exchanged)
24 Jul 1813 Promoted to Lieutenant
23 Mar 1825 Promoted to Master Commandant
1834 Commanded the USS John Adams
3 Mar 1835 Promoted to Captain
Sep 1842 Appointed chief of the Bureau of Construction, Equipment, and Repair
1855 Placed on the U.S. Navy reserves list
20 Mar 1856 Died in Philadelphia

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David P. Conner Correspondence collection contains mostly incoming correspondence to the Naval officer and his wife. The correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Conner, David, 1792-1856. Correspondence.

Corporate Bodies

United States., Navy, Officers.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David P. Conner Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 1 Oct 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 235 1807-1889 (approx. 65 letters)

Return to top