Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | John Coltrane Funeral Program |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1967 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Program from Coltrane's funeral service. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
John William Coltrane (1926-1967), nicknamed Trane, was an American jazz saxophonist and composer. He has been credited with reshaping modern jazz, and was an enormous influence on successive generations of saxophonists. Coltrane recorded and produced hundreds of albums, many of which were released posthumously. In 2007 he received a posthumous Special Citation from the Pulitzer Prize Board for his "masterful improvisation, supreme musicianship and iconic centrality to the history of jazz."
Presided over by the "minister for the jazz community," John Garcia Gensel, Coltrane's funeral service was held on July 21, 1967 at St. Peter's Lutheran Church on Lexington Avenue in New York City. Coltrane made it known as he was dying of liver cancer that he wanted a relatively spar funeral. His friend and trumpeter Cal Massey read Coltrane's poem "A Love Supreme" and the Ornette Coleman Quartet closed the ceremony by playing "Holiday for a Graveyard." [source: Ornette Coleman's funeral in the New Yorker, 27 Jun 2015.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The John Coltrane Funeral Program consists of a single program from Coltrane's funeral service at St. Peter's Lutheran Church on Lexington Avenue in New York City.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John Coltrane Funeral Program,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 2 Oct 2023
Revision history: