Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Coltrane Performance Transcripts

An inventory of the items at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Coltrane, John, 1926-1967
Title: John Coltrane Performance Transcripts
Inclusive Dates: 1973
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 5 oversize volumes of transcriptions of performances by the African American jazz saxophonist and composer. Transcribed by Andrew White, a Washington, D.C. musician.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John William Coltrane (1926-1967), nicknamed Trane, was an American jazz saxophonist and composer. He has been credited with reshaping modern jazz, and was an enormous influence on successive generations of saxophonists. Coltrane recorded and produced hundreds of albums, many of which were released posthumously. In 2007 he received a posthumous Special Citation from the Pulitzer Prize Board for his "masterful improvisation, supreme musicianship and iconic centrality to the history of jazz."

Andrew White is a saxophonist, composer, and music publisher. Through his company, Andrew’s Musical Enterprises, Inc. of Washington, D.C., established in 1971, he has self-produced more than 2000 products which are currently being marketed throughout the world. He is the author of The Works of John Coltrane, consisting of 650 transcriptions of Coltrane improvisations, and Trane 'n Me, on Coltrane's music.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Coltrane Performance Transcripts consists of five oversize volumes of transcriptions of John Coltrane performances, transcribed by Andrew White. Each volume contains transcriptions of 15-20 songs including classics such as "Freddie the Freeloader." Each volume has a complete index of contents in the front.

These are photocopies of White's transcriptions, not originals.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Coltrane, John, 1926-1967.
White, Andrew Nathaniel.

Subjects

Saxophone music (Jazz)
Saxophone music, Arranged

Genres and Forms

Photocopies.
Transcripts.

Occupations

Musicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Coltrane Performance Transcripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Syracuse University professor Bill Cole.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 26 Jul 2007
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Transcripts
Oversize 1 Volume 1
Oversize 1 Volume 2
Oversize 1 Volume 3
Oversize 2 Volume 4
Oversize 2 Volume 5

Return to top