Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Roland Coe Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Coe, Roland, 1906-1954.
Title: Roland Coe Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1935
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. (in oversize flat box)
Abstract: Original artwork and printed material from the American cartoonist and commercial artist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roland Coe (1906-1954) was a cartoonist and commercial artist. A regular contributor to the Buffalo Times and Buffalo Courier, his work also appeared in national magazines such as the Saturday Evening Post, LIFE, and Esquire. He created a number of comic strips or series, including Crosstown, His Nibs (a comic strip for Wheaties breakfast cereal), and The Little Scouts, also released as a Dell comic book.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roland Coe Collection consists of original artwork (cartoons, illustrations and paintings) and printed material (proofs for one book).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than a hundred editorial and humorous cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of cartoonist collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Coe, Roland, 1906-1954.

Associated Titles

Coe's crosstown carnival.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Cartoons.
Drawings (visual works)
Pen-and-wash drawings.
Proofs (printed matter)
Watercolors (paintings)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roland Coe Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rosalia Hull Linn, in memory of Lois Bryson O'Connor and Marion West, 2012.

Gift of Evelyn Sonnichsen, 2016.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Sep 2012
Revision history: 22 Feb 2017 - additions, Sonnichsen gift (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Original artwork
Cartoons, Wheaties
Gift of Evelyn Sonnichsen, 2016.
Oversize 2 "Doin; the chores before breakfast is easier'n I thought, Uncle Clem. I hadn't figured on the 4 A.M. bowl of Wheaties!" - pencil, matted
Oversize 2 "It'ud take more'm a southeaster to keep him from goin' to town for his Wheaties!" - pencil, matted
Cartoons, miscellaneous
Gift of Rosalia Hull Linn in memory of Lois Bryson O'Connor and Marion Wesp, 2012.
Oversize 1 "If I had all her dough you wouldn't catch ME living on a dairy farm in Denmark!" - pen and wash, single panel; original title had "Sweden" but this is crossed out
Oversize 1 "Is dis where d'artist's ball is bein' held?" - pen and wash, single panel
Illustrations
Gift of Rosalia Hull Linn in memory of Lois Bryson O'Connor and Marion Wesp, 2012.
Oversize 1 Untitled, featuring a long-eared dog - pen and wash, single panel; possibly for a book (4 items)
Paintings
Gift of Rosalia Hull Linn in memory of Lois Bryson O'Connor and Marion Wesp, 2012.
Oversize 1 Watercolor of an old-fashioned schoolhouse
Printed material
Gift of Rosalia Hull Linn in memory of Lois Bryson O'Connor and Marion Wesp, 2012.
Oversize 1 Coe's Crosstown Carnival 1935 - uncut proof sheets for entire book, including title page; unfolds to approximately 42" x 62"

Return to top