Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Stanton A. Coblentz Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Coblentz, Stanton A. (Stanton Arthur), 1896-1982.
Title: Stanton A. Coblentz Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1933-1971
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: American author, novelist, poet, editor of literary periodical, Wings. Collection includes manuscript poems, book manuscripts and galley proofs, articles, and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Stanton Arthur Coblentz (1896-1982) was an American author, novelist, poet, and the editor of the literary periodical Wings

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stanton A. Coblentz Papers contains manuscript poems, book manuscripts and galley proofs, articles, and photographs. The collection consists of two separate accessions which have not been integrated. The accession is indicated by a date in parenthesis following the series title, for example: Correspondence (1978).

The 1966 accession contains biographical material, one photograph, and manuscripts of books of epic poems and prose.

The 1978 accession contains correspondence as well as galleys, typescripts and published editions of several of Coblentz's books.

Note: Because the two accessions contain duplicate box numbers, please indicate accession and box number when requesting an item.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material within each series is arranged alphabetically by title. Published issues of Wings are arranged chronologically.

Return to top


Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Published editions of Coblentz's books have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items (search on "Gift of Stanton A. Coblentz").

Return to top

Subject Headings


Coblentz, Stanton A. (Stanton Arthur), 1896-1982.


Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Periodical editors -- United States.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.



Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stanton A. Coblentz Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 4 May 1966
Revision history: 28 Apr 1978 - second accession added (DB); 25 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top


Biographical material (1966)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Subject files (1966)
Box 1 Photographs of Coblentz
Manuscripts (1966)
Epic poems
Box 1 Atlantis
Box 1 Pageant of the New World (3 folders)
Box 1 The Blue Barbarians (2 folders)
Box 2 From Arrow to Atom Bomb (4 folders)
Box 2 New Poetic Lamps for Old
Box 3 Next Door to the Sun (2 folders)
Box 3 The Runaway World (2 folders)
Box 3 The Swallowing Wilderness (2 folders)
Box 3 A World Without Water (2 folders)
Published material (1966)
Box 4 Articles by Coblentz
Box 4 Wings, edited by Coblentz 1939-1960 - incomplete; lacking 1940, 1944-1946, 1948, 1953 (11 folders)
Correspondence (1978)
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1960
Writings (1978)
Box 1 Ten Crises in Civilization 1965
Box 1 After 12,000 Years 1950 (2 folders)
Box 1 The Challenge to Man's Survival 1971 (3 folders)
Box 1 The Long Road to Humanity 1959 (3 folders)
Box 1 The Madman from the Eastern Isles (2 folders)
Box 1 The Pageant of the New World 1968 (2 folders)
Box 1 Ten Crises in Civilization 1965
Box 1 When the Birds Fly South 1945
Published material
Box 1 Pamphlets 1943-1971
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 3 Wings 1933-1958 (68 issues)

Return to top