Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Melville Clark Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clark, Melville
Title: Melville Clark Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1906-1953
Quantity: 30 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American musician, inventor of the Clark Irish harp; Syracuse businessman, owner of Clark Music Co., founded by his father. Correspondence (1908-1950); calendars (1905-1953), heavily annotated; subject files; scrapbooks and photographs. Also, material relating to the Central New York Music Festival and the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Melville Clark Papers are arranged in four series. Correspondence contains letters, cards and other written correspondence, arranged chronologically. Daily calendars contains nearly fifty years of Clark's daily calendar, arranged chronologically. Reference files are arranged alphabetically and include topics such as "Harp," "Pianos," "Organs." Miscellaneous includes a scrapbook of advertisements using musical instruments, insurance and other miscellaneous papers, and photographs.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Clark, Melville.

Corporate Bodies

Central New York Music Festival.
Clark Music Company (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Syracuse Symphony Orchestra.

Subjects

Businessmen -- New York (State) -- Syracuse
Harp -- Instruction and study
Harpists -- United States
Music -- 20th century
Music trade -- New York (State) -- Syracuse
Musicians -- United States

Genres and Forms

Calendars.
Correspondence.
Instructional materials.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Businessmen
Musicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Melville Clark Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 20 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 11 Sep 2015 - additions M82-40, rehoused pkg as OS 1 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Letters 1908-1923
Box 1 Aa-Be
Box 2 Bi-Cz
Box 3 Da-E
Box 4 F-Gy
Box 5 Ha-I
Box 6 J-K
Box 7 La-My
Box 8 N-Q
Box 9 R-S
Box 10 T-Z
Box 11 Miscellaneous 1908
Box 12 Miscellaneous 1909-1910
Box 13 Miscellaneous 1909, Feb-Apr
Box 14 Miscellaneous 1910
Box 15 Miscellaneous 1910
Box 16 Personal receipts 1910-1911
Box 17 Personal receipts 1911-1912
Box 18 Van Veachten Rogers 1911-1922
Central N. Y. Music Festival
Box 19, 20 [General] 1912-1913
Box 21 A-L 1912-1920
Box 22 M-Z 1912-1920
Box 23 [General] 1913-1914
Box 24 [General] 1913-1915
Box 25 [General] 1914
Box 32 [General] 1916
Box 26 Gertrude Ina Robinson 1913-1918
Box 27 [unknown] 1914-1915
Box 28 Margaret Wilson 1914-1922
Box 29 Woodrow Wilson 1914-1922
Box 30 Personal letters 1915
Box 31 Personal letters 1915-1916
Box 33 Christmas cards 1916, 1923, 1925
Box 34 Christmas cards 1918, 1922
Box 36 Personal letters 1920
Box 37 Memorial Hall 1920-1948
Box 38 Kiwanis Club Records 1921
Box 39 Treasurer Nat'l. Asso. of Harpist 1921-1923
Box 35 Syra. Symphony Orchestra 1917-1925
Box 40 Syra. Symphony Orch. Season 1921-1922
Box 41 Syra. Symphony Orch. Season 1922-1923
Box 42 Syra. Symphony Orch. Season 1922-1923
Box 44 Syra. Symphony Orch. 1924-1925Season
Box 45 Syra. Symphony Orch. Season 1924-1925 Artist
Box 46 Syra. Symphony Orch. Season 1924-1925 A-Z
Box 43 Poultney Bigelow 1922-1940
Letters 1924-1928
Box 47 A-C
Box 48 D
Box 49 E-H
Box 50 I-M
Box 51 N-R
Box 52 S-W
Box 53 Miscellaneous
Box 54 Christmas cards 1926-1927
Box 55 Christmas cards 1928-1930
Letters 1929-1931
Box 56 A-B
Box 57 C
Box 58 D-E
Box 59 F-Ha
Box 60 H-K
Box 61 M-O
Box 62 O-P
Box 63 S
Box 64 T-Z
Letters 1935-1936
Box 65 Ba-M
Box 66 N-Z
Letters 1936-1938
Box 67 A-G
Box 68 H-P
Box 69 Q-Z
Box 70 Letters Rotary Club 1942-1943
Letters 1944-1951
Box 71 A-L
Box 72 M-Z
Box 73 Letters 1945-1950
Daily calendars
Box 74 Calendars March-December, 1905; January, 1906; March, 1906
Box 75 Calendars April-December, 1906
Box 76 Calendars August-December, 1907
Box 77 Calendars January-December, 1908
Box 78 Calendars January-August, 1909
Box 79 Calendars September-December, 1909
Box 80 Calendars January-July, 1910
Box 81 Calendars August-December, 1910
Box 82 Calendars January-June, 1911
Box 83 Calendars July-December, 1911
Box 84 Calendars January-June, 1912
Box 85 Calendars July-December, 1912
Box 86 Calendars January-June, 1913
Box 87 Calendars July-December, 1913
Box 88 Calendars January-June, 1914
Box 89 Calendars July-December, 1914
Box 90 Calendars January-June, 1915
Box 91 Calendars July-December, 1915
Box 92 Calendars January-June, 1916
Box 93 Calendars July-December, 1916
Box 94 Calendars January-June, 1917
Box 95 Calendars July-December, 1917
Box 96 Calendars January-June, 1918
Box 97 Calendars July-December, 1918
Box 98 Calendars September-December, 1919
Box 99 Calendars January-December, 1920
Box 100 Calendars January-June, 1921
Box 101 Calendars July-December, 1921
Box 102 Calendars January-December, 1922
Box 103 Calendars January-April, 1923
Box 104 Calendars May-December, 1923
Box 105 Calendars January-December, 1924
Box 106 Calendars January-December, 1925
Box 107 January-December, 1926
Box 108 January-December, 1927
Box 109 Calendars January 1928; October 1930, 1933
Box 110 Calendars February-September, 1929
Box 111 Calendars May-December, 1931
Box 112 Calendars January-December, 1932
Box 113 Calendars January-December, 1934
Box 114 Calendars January-December, 1935
Box 115 Calendars January-December, 1936
Box 116 Calendars January-December, 1937
Box 117 Calendars January-December, 1938
Box 118 Calendars January-December, 1939
Box 119 Calendars January-December, 1942
Box 120 Calendars January-December, 1947
Box 121 Calendars January-December, 1948
Box 122 Calendars January-December, 1949
Box 123 Calendars January-December, 1950
Box 124 Calendars January-December, 1951
Box 125 Calendars January-December, 1952
Box 126 Calendars January-December, 1953
Reference files
Box 127 Aero Station Plans 4 volumes
Box 128 A
Box 129 B
Box 130-133 C
Box 134 D-E-F
Box 135 F-G-H
Box 136-138 Harp
Box 139 L
Box 140-142 M
Box 143, 144 N. A. M. M. [National Association of Music Merchants] 1930-1944
Box 145 N-O-P-Q
Box 146 Organs
Box 147 Pianos
Box 148 R
Box 149 S
Box 150 T-U-V
Box 151 W-Z
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Scrapbook, Advertisers using musical instruments
Oversize 1 "Instructions for Playing the Clark Irish Harp" with music by Van Veachten Rogers - oversize softcover volumes, Lessons I through X (10 volumes)
Box 152 Insurance and miscellaneous
Box 153 Miscellaneous (to be filed)
Box 154, 155 Photos

Return to top