Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jerome Chodorov Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chodorov, Jerome.
Title: Jerome Chodorov Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1941-1967
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: American playwright, director, short story author and librettist. Collection contains manuscripts of plays, screenplays, teleplays, and a few short stories; also a small amount of biographical material, correspondence and ephemera.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jerome Chodorov (1911-2004) was an American playwright, librettist and director.

Born in New York City to Harry and Lena (Simmons) Chodorov, Jerome attended George Washington High School and then began his writing career as a journalist in the 1930s. By 1942 he had written at least seven plays or screenplays. Following a three-year hiatus from 1942 to 1945, during which time he served as a captain in the United States Air Force, he returned to writing, producing plays, screenplays, teleplays and short stories. His Wonderful Town won the 1953 New York Drama Critics Circle Award and the Outer Circle Award. Chodorov also collaborated on several productions with Joseph Fields, as well as one with novelist and playwright Joseph Heller ( Spy Story) and another with cartoonist Mell Lazarus ( The Boss Is Crazy Too).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jerome Chodorov Papers consists primarily of manuscripts of plays, screenplays, teleplays, and a few short stories, many with extensive revisions. The collection also contains a small amount of biographical material, correspondence and ephemera.

In many cases the title of a play changed in the course of writing and revising. Where it was possible to determine dates, the latest title was chosen under which to group the manuscripts of a single play. Earlier titles are given in the inventory below, with a cross-reference to the final title chosen for grouping.

Personal correspondence related to a particular play is filed with the manuscripts for that play. Items of interest include correspondence between Chodorov and Pearl S. Buck (Box 2, Christine), between Chodorov and Joshua Logan (Box 1, Blood, Sweat and Stanley Poole; Box 18, personal correspondence, 1961), and a letter from Chodorov to Otto Preminger (Box 18, personal correspondence, 1962).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts are in alphabetical order by title and within that chronologically by date of creation, where possible to determine (e.g., outline followed by drafts followed by final versions). Correspondence and notes relating to a particular play are filed with the manuscripts.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chodorov, Jerome.

Subjects

Dramatists, American -- 20th century.
Librettists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Dramatists.
Librettists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jerome Chodorov Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: Nov 1968
Revision history: 8 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical information
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Manuscripts
An Amazing Event
See Three Bags Full
An Astounding Event
See Three Bags Full
Box 1 Barnaby and Mr. O'Malley 1962 - typescript, correspondence
Box 1 Barnum May 1963 - typescript and handwritten early and final drafts, outlines, many with revisions (6 folders)
Bascom Barlow
See Three Bags Full
Box 1 The Big Ditch 1954 - outline typescript; Act I typescript with revisions; notes (2 folders)
Box 1 Blood, Sweat and Stanley Poole 1961, 1963 - carbon copy; correspondence
The Blue Coast
See Chez Francois
Box 2 The Boss is Crazy Too undated - carbon copy of first draft with revisions
Box 2 Chez Francois 1960 - mimeo; carbon copy (2 folders)
Box 2 Christine 1959-1960 - fragments; carbon copies with revisions; correspondence
Cote d'Azur
See Chez Francois
Duchess and the Smugs
See Chez Francois
Dumas and Son
Box 2 Outlines, notes and correspondence 1964
Box 3 Outlines, drafts, notes and correspondence 1964-1966 - typescript, carbon and manuscript drafts both complete and of individual acts and scenes, many with revisions (12 folders)
Box 4 Drafts and fragments 1966 - typescript, carbon and manuscript drafts, many with revisions (10 folders)
Box 5 Fragments 1967, undated - typescript, many with revisions (6 folders)
Box 6 The French Touch circa 1946 - bound volume
Fun and Games
See Three Bags Full
A Funny Game
See Three Bags Full
Box 6 The Girl in Pink Tights 1953 - mimeograph copy
Box 6 The Great Waltz 1965, undated - typescripts and xerox and mimeograph copies, many with revisions; Wright and Forrest rehearsal script, with annotations; notes and correspondence (7 folders)
A Hero's Life
Box 6 Revisions and rewrites, notes 1960, 1962, undated - carbon, xerox and thermofax copies
Box 7 Early versions, fragments undated - typescripts and carbon copies, many with revisions (3 folders)
How Like a God
See Olympus 7-0000
Box 7 I Had a Ball 1964 - mimeo of 2d draft; fragments; 2 carbon copies with revisions; carbon copy of album narration (3 folders)
Box 7 Idiot's Delight undated - notes
Box 7 Impasse de la fidelite 1961 - rough copy; carbon copy; typescript (2 folders)
Junior Miss
Box 7 Manuscript 1941 - carbon copy
Box 8 Bound volume 1944
Box 8 Junior Miss Goes to War undated - carbon copy
Box 8 Kitty 1963-1964, undated - Act III with revisions; carbon copy of Act III; fragments; correspondence; notes (3 folders)
Box 8 The Major and the Private 1964, undated - drafts; fragments; many with revisions (6 folders)
A Mother's Kisses
Box 9 Drafts, fragments 1965-1966 - carbon copies, typescripts, many with revisions (9 folders)
Box 10 Drafts, fragments 1966 - typescripts, handwritten and mimeo copies, many with revisions (9 folders)
Box 11 Drafts, fragments 1966-1967 - typescripts, mimeo and carbon copies, many with revisions (3 folders)
My Indian Family
See Christine
Box 11 My Sister Eileen circa 1946 - bound volume
An Officer and a Gentleman
See The Major and the Private
Box 11 Oh Men! Oh Women! 1966 - drafts of pilot script; typescripts, handwritten, carbon copies (5 folders)
Box 11 Olympus 7-0000 1966 - 2nd and final drafts, fragments; typescripts and carbon and mimeo copies, many with revisions
Panama Sweepstakes
See The Big Ditch
Box 12 The Ponder Heart 1956, 1962, 1966 - drafts of teleplay, many with revisions; published material, clippings; bound volume (4 folders)
Box 12 Profile undated - outline for story; typescript, handwritten
Box 12 Ride the Wind undated - story; carbon copy
Box 12 Ring Lardner undated - typescript
Sailor Beware
See The Big Ditch
Box 12 Spy Story 1963, undated - outlines, drafts, treatments (6 folders)
The Student Prince
Box 13 Drafts, fragments, correspondence, notes, sketches 1966 - handwritten, typescript, and carbon copies, many with revisions
Box 14 Drafts, fragments, correspondence 1966 - typescripts, also xerox, mimeo and carbon copies, many with revisions
That Prince Wales
See Spy Story
Box 14 That Side of Him undated - story; handwritten and typescript, manuscripts with revisions
Three Bags Full
Box 14 Drafts 1965 - includes alternate titles An Astounding Event, An Amazing Event; handwritten and typescript manuscripts and carbon copies, many with revisions (6 folders)
Box 15 Drafts 1965 - includes alternate titles An Astounding Event, An Amazing Event, Bascom Barlow; typescripts and mimeo and carbon copies, many with revisions (7 folders)
Box 16 Drafts 1966 - includes alternate titles A Funny Game, Fun and Games, and Oscar; typescripts and mimeo and carbon copies, many with revisions (5 folders)
Box 16 Three Little Girls at School 1941 - carbon copy
Box 16 Weismann on Weizmann 1962-1963 - mimeo copy with revisions; fragments; notes; correspondence
Box 16 Wonder Wheel undated - mimeo copy
See also I Had a Ball
Box 16 Wonderful Town 1962-1963 - mimeo copy; correspondence
Box 17 The World's Biggest Caper (and How It Grew) 1966 - story; typescript with revisions, also xerox copy; correspondence
The World is Mine
See Dumas and Son
Box 17 Zero Hour — One Half 1963 - typescripts as well as carbon, xerox and mimeo copies of outline and numerous drafts, many with revisions; notes; correspondence (10 folders)
Correspondence
Box 17 Personal 1959-1962
Box 18 Personal 1963-1964, 1966
Box 18 Of others 8 Jan 1944
Ephemera
Box 18 Clippings Aug 1962, Aug 1963
Duplicates
Box 18 Miscellaneous duplicate material (4 folders)

Return to top