Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Chicory Blue Press Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chicory Blue Press (Goshen, Conn.)
Title: Chicory Blue Press Records
Inclusive Dates: 1987-2011
Quantity: 3.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Founded by Sondra Zeidenstein, Chicory Blue Press of Goshen, Connecticut publishes poetry and short stories by women authors over the age of 60. Collection contains editorial files, correspondence, audio and video material; a number of published items were removed for separate cataloging.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Founded in 1987 by Sondra Zeidenstein, Chicory Blue Press of Goshen, Connecticut publishes poetry and short stories by women authors over the age of 60.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chicory Blue Press Records contains correspondence, editorial files, subject files, and audio/video recordings. Most of the editorial files relate to anthologies edited by Sondra Zeidenstein. Some printed material has been removed for separate cataloging (see below).

Correspondence consists of letters, cards, notes and other items. Many are from other poets and authors. Correspondence relating to specific Chicory Blue titles may be found in the Editorial files for that title.

Editorial files contains correspondence, cover art, contract information, and other material relating to specific Chicory Blue titles. The Crimson Edge folders contain cover art and information on a number of Crimson Edge chapbooks.

Subject files relate to topics of interest to the press (e.g., older writers, age and creativity) as well as to the operation of the press itself (book fairs; publicity and promotion).

Audio and video contains audio and video recordings of prose and poetry readings, interviews with Zeidenstein and other authors and poets, and assorted other topics.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Editorial files are arranged by title in order of publication. Correspondence files are alphabetical by name. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by various other subjects. Recordings are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Some published material (books and chapbooks) has been removed for separate cataloging. For a complete listing, please refer to the Classic Catalog and search for the phrase "Chicory Blue Press" appearing anywhere.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Arcana, Judith.
Golden, Alvia.
Kiefer, Rita, 1930-
Leontief, Estelle.
McCray, Carrie Allen, 1913-
Moore, Honor, 1945-
Nason, Tema.
Sanchez, Carole.
Swift, Joan, 1926-
Wagner, Anneliese, 1929-
Weinberger, Florence, 1932-
Wong, Nellie.
Zeidenstein, Sondra

Corporate Bodies

Chicory Blue Press (Goshen, Conn.)
Small Press Distribution (Firm)

Subjects

Older women.
Publishers and publishing.
Short stories -- Women authors.
Small presses -- Connecticut -- Goshen.
Women -- Poetry.
Women poets, American.
Women publishers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Correspondence.
Videocassettes.

Occupations

Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chicory Blue Press Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sondra Zeidenstein, 2007, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: 25 Oct 2007
Revision history: 30 Jun 2011 - adds (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 A-Z
Box 1 Unidentified
Editorial files
Box 1 The Crimson Edge 1996 (2 folders)
Box 1 A Detail in that Story 1998
Box 1 Family Reunion 2003 (2 folders)
Box 1 Four Sublets 2007
Box 1 Heart of the Flower 1991
Box 1 The Love Word 2004
Box 2 Memoir 1988
Box 2 Resistance 2003
Box 2 What If Your Mother 2005 (2 folders)
Box 2 A Wider Giving 1988 (4 folders)
Subject files
Box 2 About the publisher
Box 3 Age and creativity (2 folders)
Box 3 Book fairs, readings and exhibitions
Box 3 Older writers
Box 3 Publicity and promotion
Box 3 SPD [Small Press Distribution]
Box 3 Submission letters
Box 3 Website
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Audio and video
Box 3 Audiotapes - peotry readings, interviews with Zeidenstein and other writers and poets, etc. (21 cassettes)
Box 3 Videotape, "Books and the Word," guest Sondra Zeidenstein 1988 (1 cassette)
Printed material
Books
Removed for separate cataloging.
Crimson Edge Chapbook series
Removed for separate cataloging.

Return to top