Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

François-René Chateaubriand Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chateaubriand, François-René, vicomte de, 1768-1848.
Title: François-René Chateaubriand Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1814-1823
Quantity: 4 items
Abstract: Three outgoing letters; illustration
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

François-René Chateaubriand was born in Brittany, France on September 4, 1768, the tenth child of René Auguste. Chateaubriand is considered to be one of the fathers of Romanticism in France. Two of his best known works, Atala and René, are often viewed as turning points in French literature. He died on July 4, 1848.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The François-René Chateaubriand Letters contains three pieces of outgoing correspondence. In addition, the collection contains an illustration of Chateaubriand as Minister of Defense.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chateaubriand, François-René, vicomte de, 1768-1848 Correspondence.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature, 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

François-René Chateaubriand Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 11 Sep 2008
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 231 29 Oct 1823
SC 231 7 Nov 1823
SC 231 19 Jul 1814
Illustrations
SC 231 Chateaubriand - Minister of Foreign Affairs, 1823-1824; Caption reads: "Le Christ seul sauvera la Société moderne. Voilà mon Roi! voilà mon Dieu!"

Return to top