Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Peter Chandler Travel Diaries

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chandler, Peter, fl. 1823-1828.
Title: Peter Chandler Travel Diaries
Inclusive Dates: 1823-1828
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two diaries of a young man's travels, one captioned "Journey to the West." One is a reproduction (photostat?), the other an original.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Peter Chandler beyond the information given in the diaries. He evidently resided in Pomfret, Connecticut, and an inscription in the 1823 volume says "20 years old," so he may have been born around 1803.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter Chandler Travel Diaries consists of two journals documenting a young man's travels. One, dated 1927, is captioned "Journey to the West" and describes towns and villages in Central New York, including "Chittiningo" (Chittenango), Auburn, Eldridge and Manlius. The other also appears to be of a trip to New York, but towards the eastern side as it mentions Long Island.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chandler, Peter, fl. 1823-1828.

Subjects

Travelers -- New York (State) -- Diaries.

Places

New York (State) -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter Chandler Travel Diaries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Francis Greeley, Madison, Wisconsin, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 2 Aug 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Diaries
SC 554 Travels to New York from Pomfret, Connecticut 1823-1828

Return to top