Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Champfleury Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Champfleury, 1821-1889.
Title: Champfleury Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1890
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten manuscript of "Voyage autour de ma bibliothèque" by Champfleury, bound with a letter about him from his friend Jules Troubat.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jules François Felix Fleury-Husson (1820-1889) was a French art critic and author who wrote under the pen name Champfleury.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Champfleury Collection is a set of bound items, including a handwritten manuscript copy of "Voyage autour de ma bibliothèque" ("Journey Around my Library"), an essay by Champfleury. The text of the essay was published in 1903 in Champfleury inédit, edited by Paul Eudel.

The collection also includes a letter sent to Paul Eudel in 1890 by the author Jules Troubat, who was a personal friend of Champfleury.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Champfleury, 1821-1889.
Eudel, Paul, 1837-1911.
Troubat, Jules, 1836-1914.

Subjects

French literature -- 19th century.

Places

Paris (France) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Art critics.
Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Champfleury Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Apr 2010 - EAD updated (LMD)

Return to top