Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Leonard Casper Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Casper, Leonard R.
Title: Leonard Casper Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1966
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscripts, typescripts, and galleys of Leonard R. Casper's critical work on Filipino literature, with some works by others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leonard R. Casper (1923-2018) was a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, Madison and emeritus professor of English from Boston College where he taught for 45 years. He was the author or editor of numerous books on Philippine literature, as well as several pieces of fiction and two volumes on the works of Robert Penn Warren. Casper taught in the Philippines on five separate occasions, twice as senior Fulbright lecturer, and was contributing editor to Solidarity (Manila) and Pilipinas (Kansas; Arizona State). His wife Linda Ty Casper is a noted Filpino novelist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leonard Casper Papers consist of writings by Casper and writings by others.

Writings by Casper consists of articles, books, and prefaces in the form of manuscripts, typescripts, and galleys.

Writings by Others consists of typescript essays, with one letter written to Casper, and three unsigned works possibly written by Casper.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into two series. Writings by Casper is arranged alphabetically by type of work. Writings by Others is arranged alphabetically by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the papers of his wife, Linda Ty Casper.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Casper, Leonard R.

Subjects

Philippine literature -- History and criticism.

Places

Philippines -- History.
Philippines -- Literature.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard Casper Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Leonard Casper, 1969-1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history: 01 July 2019 - processed (DSA)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings by Casper
Articles
Box 1 Cultural resurgence in Philippine literature 1965 - annotated manuscript, written for Literature East & West
Box 1 Runaway child: Modern Philippine literature 1963 - annotated typescript
Box 1 The tradition of evasion: The Filipino novel from a teacher's point of view undated - annotated typescript
Books
New writing from the Philippines
Box 1 Typescript 1966 - annotated (7 folders)
Box 1 Galleys undated - annotated
Box 2 Galleys undated - annotated (3 folders)
The wounded diamond
Box 2 Manuscript, first draft undated - misidentified by Casper as written for New writing from the Philippines
Box 2 Manuscript, later draft 1961
Box 2 Typescript 1964 (2 folders)
Prefaces
Box 3 After this exile, Viray 1965 - manuscript
Box 3 Selected stories of N.V.M. Gonzalez 1964 - manuscript
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Literature east & west, vol IX, no. 1 1965 - typescript with contribution from Casper
Box 3 A road into the mountains: A verse play 1965 - publication reprinted from The Diliman Review, Vol. XIII
Box 3 A stun of jewels, Angeles undated - notes by Casper on Carlos Angeles' work
Writings by others
Box 3 Aguilar, Celedonio G. / Shaken shadows: A collection of thirteen poems 1966 - typescript, inscribed to Casper by Aguilar
Box 3 Arcellana, Francisco / A worm at heaven's gate: A teacher's view of poetry undated - typescript
Box 3 Benesa, Leonidas V. / The Filipino novel from 1941 to 1962 undated - typescript
Box 3 Constantino, Josefina D. / Philippine poetry in English and its readers undated - typescript
Box 3 Tiempo, Edilberto K. / The Philippine novel - From a novelist's point of view undated - typescript
Box 3 Tiempo, Edith L. / Limits - or chaos undated - typescript
Box 3 Viray, Manuel A. / After this exile 1959-1965 - typescript
Casper contributed an essay to this work, which is not included here. This folder includes a single letter from Viray to Casper, 1959.
Box 3 Unknown (possibly Casper) / The angelical salutations of Angelus undated - typescript
Box 3 Unknown (possibly Casper) / The future of the Filipino novel undated - typescript
Box 3 Unknown (possibly Casper) / William Styron's Nat Turner undated - typescript
This is a review of a book, William Styron's Nat Turner: Ten Black Writers Respond, ed. John Henrik Clarke. The last part of the essay is handwritten.

Return to top