Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Irwin Casper Collection of Brush Product Literature

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Casper, Irwin.
Title: Irwin Casper Collection of Brush Product Literature
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1994
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains catalogs and product literature on various brands of hair brushes, combs, toothbrushes, household brushes, and industrial brushes from American and international companies.
Language: English, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Irwin Casper Collection of Brush Product Literature contains product literature on various brands of hair brushes, toothbrushes, household brushes, and industrial brushes from American and international companies.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Boxes are arranged alphabetically by company.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The Plastics Artifacts Collection contains many examples.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Brooms and brushes.
Hair -- Care and hygiene.
Plastics industry and trade.
Toothbrushes.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Brochures.
Promotional materials.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Irwin Casper Collection of Brush Product Literature,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Irwin Casper.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Feb 2012 - updated (SCJ)

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Catalogs - Product literature on various brands of hair brushes, combs, toothbrushes, household brushes, and industrial brushes from American and international companies
Box 1 All-American Brush Mfg. Corp.
1 Catalog of promotional information and materials
1 Planning book of product information
Box 1 Artex
1 Catalog
Box 1 Beecham Products USA 1988
1 Aquafresh "results" pamphlet
Box 1 Bennington Brush Company
2 Catalogs of product information
16 Assorted 8x10 product photographs
3 Assorted product information sheets
Box 1 Big Eagle Company Ltd.
1 Paper with company contact information
Box 1 Celluloid s.a. 1992-1993
1 Catalog titled "Nouveautes"
1 Product index
1 Product catalog
1 Letter from F. Caron
Box 1 Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals 1994
1 Informational pamphlet
Box 1 Condor
2 General catalogs
2 General catalogs
1 Letter from Ulisses Godoy
Box 1 Coronet 1977-1982
1 Catalog titled "the attractive range"
1 Packet of product and sales information
1 Book "The Successful Coronet Programme"
Box 1 Derby 1990-1991
1 Catalog
2 Catalogs
Box 1 E. I. du Pont Nemours and Company
1 Catalog
1 Catalog titled "quality toiletries for the whole family"
Box 1 Ebser
1 Document describing manufacturing equipment
Box 1 Empire Brushes Inc.
1 Advertisement
Box 1 F&F Founders Enterprises Ltd. 1979
1 Offer sheet and invoice
Box 1 First Co. Plastic Fty.
1 Product sheet with price list
Box 1 Flamingo 1967
1 Catalog
Box 1 Foster Grant Co. Inc. 1967
1 Price list for nylon combs
2 Promotional pages for unbreakable nylon combs
1 Catalog
1 Memo to all wholesale salesmen
Box 1 Gaylord Products
1 Catalog
Box 1 Gibson-Thomsen Co. Inc.
1 Catalog
Box 1 Golden Uly Int'l Co. Ltd. 1984
1 Price list with product images
Box 1 Goody 1967
1 Catalog
Box 1 Grand Fuhsing Co. Ltd.
1 Packet of product images
Box 1 Hamivreshet Ruhama 1984
2 Catalogs for Ruhama brushes
Box 1 Jackson Associate Corp. 1983
1 Catalog with attached letter from Jackson Huang
Box 2 John O. Butler Company 1989-1994
1 Catalog "the butler smile factory"
2 Product catalogs
1 Product catalog
1 Sales catalog
1 Sales pamphlet
Box 2 Johnson & Johnson 1994
1 Professional products pamphlet
Box 2 Kent of London 1959
1 Catalog with attached letter from Eric L.H. Cosby Jr.
Box 2 Life-Time Merchandising 1966
1 Sales catalog with attached memo
Box 2 Lyon Enterprise Co. Ltd.
1 Catalog
Box 2 Marvel Sales Co. Inc. 1967
1 Price list with promotional page
Box 2 Monofil
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Oral-B 1987-1992
1 Pamphlet for the "ultra toothbrush"
1 Advertisement for the "ultra toothbrush"
1 Pamphlet for "snap lock interdental brush system"
1 Sales packet with price list
Box 2 Pai-Ta Brush Co. Ltd. 1983
1 Price list with product images and attached letter from Jackson Liu
Box 2 Piace Companhia Industrial
11 Assorted pages of product images
1 Export price list
1 Paper with company address
Box 2 Paul A. Price Co. Inc. 1967
1 Catalog with attached letter from Louis G. Katz
Box 2 Pioneer Hair Care Products Limited 1986
1 Paper with company contact information
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 The PK Group
1 Product list
Box 2 Radius
1 Sales pamphlet
Box 2 Sears
1 Page image of comb display
Box 2 Sekine 1962-1980
1 Catalog
1 Catalog of professional styling brushes
1 Catalog of "style and groom" brushes
6 Assorted pages of product information
Box 2 Solo 1967-1969
1 Catalog with wholesale price list
1 Catalog
Box 2 Spa 1963
1 Catalog
Box 2 Stanley Comb Products Corp. 1967
1 Distributor price list with product catalog
Box 2 Sterkel 1981
1 Catalog
Box 2 Sunbeam
1 Informational pamphlet with attached presentation abstract
Box 2 Sup-Erb Brush Company 1982
1 Catalog
Box 2 Tai Max International Co. Ltd. 1987
1 Page with product photographs
Box 2 Tigre
1 Catalog of artist brushes and accessories
1 Catalog of paint brushes, paint rollers, and accessories
1 Letter from Dr. Jader Fernades S. Borges
Box 2 Tilton & Cook Co. 1979
1 Catalog
Box 2 Tin Ngai Industrial Co. Ltd.
1 Price list with attached photograph
Box 2 Tip-Top 1967
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Tung Fat Plastic Co. 1982
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Wah Hing Plastic and Metalware Fty. Ltd. 1983
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Welgroom
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Wisdom Toothbrush Company 1993
1 Catalog
Box 2 Worldwide Dental 1986
1 Catalog with price list
Box 2 Yung Hsang Development Co. Ltd.
1 Paper with attached product photographs
Periodicals
Box 2 Brushwork January 1988
Vol. 1 Number 1
Box 2 Packaging Digest 1986-1989
Vol. 23 Number 7
Vol. 26 Number 6

Return to top