Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

California Labor School Collection

A description of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: California Labor School.
Title: California Labor School Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1950
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed material including programs, course bulletins, pamphlets.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The California Labor School was originally founded as the Tom Mooney School in June of 1942. Its purpose was to train the huge influx of new workers into a wartime economy in trades and in various aspects of labor relations ranging from dues to union representation. The school was immensely successful and attracted talented and dedicated faculty, including George Hitchcock. The school's mission was to foster a unique "worker's culture" by passing on not only trade union methods and Marxist ideology, but also fine art, dance, and music. The school closed in the late 1950s.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The California Labor School Collection consists of a program for a 1950 performance by the chorus of "Trial by Jury" and several course bulletins.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Please refer to the the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of collections relating to social activism and reform, and to radical literature. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has acquired numerous related periodicals, books, and other printed material; please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials. In particular, see Made in Berlin by Judith Yagodka and the San Francisco Writers Workshop magazine.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hitchcock, George.

Corporate Bodies

California Labor School.

Associated Titles

Trial by jury.

Subjects

Radicalism in literature.
Socialism and education -- United States.
Socialism and theater -- United States.
Theater -- Political aspects.

Genres and Forms

Course catalogs.
Librettos.
Programs (documents)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

California Labor School Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Libretto purchased from the Peter Graham Fund for Radicalism in Literature and Art, 2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 29 Sep 2008
Revision history: 12 Feb 2009 - adds (MRC); Jul 2009 - adds (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 238 Course catalogs 1944, 1945, 1947
SC 238 Programs, librettos 1950
SC 238 Miscellaneous

Return to top