Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Hutchins Cady Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cady, John Hutchins.
Title: John Hutchins Cady Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1908-1961
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American architect (1881-1967). Contains architectural records of original and restoration projects, mostly in Providence, R.I., and committee records of the Providence City Planning Commission. Also includes some books and manuscripts by Cady on architecture in Providence, and maps created in 1936 indicating the growth of Providence from 1650 through 1900.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Hutchins Cady (1881-1967) was an American architect and architectural historian. He was the youngest son of John Hamlin Cady of Providence, Rhode Island, and Mary Tabitha Eddy, of Somerset, Massachusetts. Cady graduated from Brown University in 1902 and became a renowned historical preservationist and architectural historian in Providence. He served as chairman of the City Plan Commission of Providence and wrote several books, including Highroads and Byroads of Providence (1943); his Civic and Architectural Development of Providence (1957) is considered a classic.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Hutchins Cady Papers consist of four series. Architectural records consist of both original and restoration projects. Committee records consist of different types of records of committees of which Cady was a member. Writings consist of literary works by Cady both in published and unpublished form. Maps of Providence show the growth of the city of Providence, Rhode Island from the year 1650 to the year 1900.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The entire collection is arranged according to Cady's own numbering system.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of important and notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. There are also relevant items in the library's Rare Books department; please see the Classic Catalog for a listing of these.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cady, John Hutchins.

Corporate Bodies

Providence City Planning Commission.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural design.
Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Historic buildings -- Conservation and preservation.

Places

Providence (R.I.) -- City planning.
Providence (R.I.) -- Maps.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Maps.
Reports.

Occupations

Architects.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Hutchins Cady Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: Dec 1978
Revision history: 15 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Architectural records
Oversize 1 Mrs. C.L. Miller, Middletown, Conn. 1908-1909
Oversize 1 Charles Z. Eddy, Providence, R.I. 1909
Oversize 1 Andrews Building, Providence, R.I. 1912-1913
Oversize 1 City of Providence, Field Houses 1914-1916
Oversize 1 Roger Williams Park, Providence, R.I. 1914-1915
Oversize 1 I. W. Lederer, Providence, R.I. 1915
Oversize 1 Federal Hill House Association, Providence, R.I. 1916
Oversize 1 Nickerson House 1916
Oversize 1 Norman L. Sammis, Providence 1919
Oversize 1 Henry C. Hart, Providence, R.I. 1921-1952
Oversize 2 Pausacaco Lodge, North Kingstown, R.I. 1922-1923
Oversize 2 John H. Wells, Providence, R.I. 1922-1962
Oversize 2 Austin T. Levy, Nassau, Bahamas 1923-1929
Oversize 2 Miss Amey L. Willson, Providence, R.I. 1925
Oversize 2 Austin T. Levy, Harrisville, R.I. 1924-1929
Oversize 2 Arthur L. Philbrick, Providence, R.I. 1925
Oversize 2 Lloyd G. Bowers, Columbus, Ga. 1926
Oversize 2 Henry D. Sharpe, Nayatt, R.I. 1927
Oversize 2 Elliot Flint, Providence 1928
Oversize 2 Dr. Roland Hammond, Cumberland, R.I. 1930
Oversize 3 Alfred L. Lustig, Little Compton, R.I. 1930
Oversize 3 Barker Playhouse, Providence, R.I. 1932
Oversize 3 Grace Church, Providence, R.I. 1934
Oversize 3 Amey L. Willson, Petersham, Mass. 1938-1948
Oversize 3 Henry C. Hart, Little Compton, R.I. 1932-1948
Oversize 3 Shakespeare's Head, John Carter, 1772, Providence, R.I. (Restoration) 1938
Oversize 3 Thomas Clemence House, Johnston, R.I. (Restoration) 1938-1939
Oversize 3 Clarke Freeman, Bristol, R,I. 1939
Oversize 3 Edward P. Jastram, Little Compton, R.I. 1939-1946
Oversize 3 Miss Alice M. Comstock, Smithfield, R.I. 1937-1939
Oversize 4 John H. Wells, South Kingstown, R.I. 1941
Oversize 4 Swan Point Cemetery, Providence, R.I. 1947
Oversize 4 World War II Memorial, Providence, R.I. 1950
Oversize 4 Market House, Providence, R.I. 1915-1950
Oversize 4 "Cajacet," Capt. Paine House, Jamestown, R.I. 1949-1952
Oversize 4 Cocumscussuc, "Smith's Castle," Wickford, R.I. (Restoration) 1948-1957
Oversize 4 Miss Alice M. Comstock, Little Compton, R.I. 1951
Oversize 4 The Old Stone Bank 1953
Oversize 4 Robert A. Appleton, Rehoboth, Mass. 1953
Oversize 4 Home for Aged Men and Aged Couples, Providence, R.I. 1954
Oversize 5 Thomas Poynton Ives House, Providence, R.I. (Restoration) 1954-1959
Oversize 5 Round Top Church, Providence, R.I. (Restoration) 1959
Committee records
Oversize 5 Providence City Plan Commission 1913-1930 (2 folders)
Oversize 5 Providence City Plan Commission and Its Advisory Committee 1931-1935 (2 folders)
Oversize 5 Providence City Plan Commission 1936-1941 (3 folders)
Oversize 5 Providence City Plan Commission Final Records Before Reorganization 1942-1945
Oversize 6 The Proprietors of Swan Point Cemetery, Providence, R.I. 1931-1964
Oversize 6 Governor's Planning Board Dec., 1934-March, 1935
Oversize 6 State Planning Board May, 1935-Jan., 1938
Oversize 6 A.I.A. Committee on Historic Buildings 1953-1960
Writings
Books
Oversize 6 Walks Around Providence
Oversize 6 Highroads and Byroads of Providence
Oversize 6 Rhode Island Boundaries, 1636-1936
Oversize 6 The Civic and Architectural Development of Providence
Literary Manuscripts (typescripts)
Oversize 6 I 1933-1949
Oversize 6 II 1947-1952
Oversize 6 III 1955-1961
Maps of Providence
Oversize 7 1650-1900, created in 1936

Return to top