Finding Aids
printer friendly version

S. Parkes Cadman Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cadman, S. Parkes (Samuel Parkes), 1864-1936.
Title: S. Parkes Cadman Letter
Inclusive Dates: 1928
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typewritten, signed letter from Rev. S. Parkes Cadman to Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, apologizing for his inability to visit Gloversville, NY.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

S. Parkes Cadman (1864-1936) was an American clergyman, newspaper columnist, and radio personality. He was a radio pioneer, one of the first Christian ministers to begin broadcasting sermons in the 1920s. He was known for his promotion of tolerance and interfaith cooperation.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. Parkes Cadman Letter consists of a typewritten letter on Central Congregational Church letterhead dated 8 February 1928 and signed by Cadman. It is addressed to Mrs. F. Fuhrer of Gloversville, New York. This is likely Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, who donated many family papers to the Special Collections Research Center. In the letter, Cadman apologizes for being unable to visit Gloversville as Mrs. Fuhrer requested. He mentions that the Gloversville Y.M.C.A. and a group of local ministers have also been asking him to come in May, but he does not have time.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cadman, S. Parkes (Samuel Parkes), 1864-1936.
Fuhrer, Mrs. Frederick.

Subjects

Central Congregational Church (Brooklyn, New York, N.Y.)
Congregational churches -- Clergy -- Correspondence.
Congregational churches -- New York (State) -- Brooklyn.
Congregationalists -- New York (State)

Places

Gloversville (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

S. Parkes Cadman Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, 1962.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 25 January 2010
Revision history:

Return to top