Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles L. Cadle New York State Canal Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cadle, Charles L.
Title: Charles L. Cadle New York State Canal Photographs
Inclusive Dates: circa 1922
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: The collection consists of one photo album named "New York State Canal System" containing photographs related to the former Barge Canal under the name of Charles L. Cadle, Superintendent of Public Works of the State of New York. These photographs demonstrate the state of the art of the technology and efficiency of New York's water way transportation system.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles L. Cadle, born on March 10, 1879 at Mentor, Ohio, was Superintendent of Public Works of the State of New York. Before this appointment he worked for the Cleveland Railway Company (until 1906) after which he became the manager of Cleveland's Electric Railway Improvement Company. The next year, he transferred to the Rochester lines of the New York State Railways for the position of Electrical Engineer where he would move up to become chief engineer (1917). In 1919, he was also appointed chief engineer of the New York and Harlem Railroad Company. He served as New York State's Superintendent of Public Works from January 19, 1921-January 9, 1923.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles L. Cadle New York State Canal Photographs collection consists of a single bound volume containing a "Canal Map of the State of New York" (1919), a page with stats on the New York State Canal System (formerly known as the New York State Barge Canal), as well as 55 photographs showing different canal boat types, cargos, locations, and the state of the art technology used for the operation of the system (locks, bridges, aqueducts, etc.). Locations featured include the East River and Manhattan Island in New York City, the Mohawk, Seneca and Genesee Rivers, Oneida Lake, Upstate New York towns such as Rochester, Little Falls, Seneca Falls, Buffalo, Lockport, Palmyra, Medina, Lyons, and Amsterdam.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs in the album remain in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cadle, Charles L.

Subjects

Canal-boats -- New York (State)
Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- Maps.
Transportation -- New York (State) -- Pictorial works.

Places

Amsterdam (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Buffalo (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc. -- Pictorial works.
East River (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Genesee River (Pa. and N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Little Falls (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Lockport (N.Y.) -- History.
Lyons (N.Y. : Town) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Manhattan (New York, N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc. -- Pictorial works.
Medina (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Mohawk River (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Oneida Lake (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Palmyra (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Rochester (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Seneca Falls (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.
Seneca River (N.Y.) -- History -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Maps.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles L. Cadle New York State Canal Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SM
Date: 08 Sept 2016
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 New York State Canal System circa 1922 - album with canal map and 55 photographs

Return to top