Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Jacob Burckhardt Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Burckhardt, Jacob, 1818-1897.
Title: Jacob Burckhardt Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1842-1968
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: German art and cultural historian. Collection contains items both by and about Burckhardt, including correspondence, clippings, printed material, typescripts, photographs, and more.
Language: The majority of the collection is in German with some material partially in English.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jacob Burckhardt (1818-1897) was a German art and cultural historian. The son of a Protestant clergyman, Burckhardt came from a thriving and respected family who had built their power and political sway over three centuries, many serving as professors and pastors. Burckhardt studied at the University of Basel, focusing on Greek and theology. While attending the University of Berlin, he worked with two professors - Franz Kugler and Leopold von Ranke - who turned his focus to the philological and historical. Burckhardt specialized in the Renaissance and classical periods, and is most known for his work Die Kultur der Renaissance in Italien (1860). He is sometimes credited with developing the field now known as cultural history.

Georg Leyh (1877-1968) was a German librarian, library historian, philosopher, and administrator. He studied philology and history in Munich, Stasbourg, and Tubingen. He began as a library research assistant at the Kaiser Wilhelm Library in Poznan, then worked in univerisity libraries in Gottingen, Konigsberg, Berlin, Halle, Wroclaw, the Prussian Historical Institute in Rome, and the Royal Library in Berlin. From 1914-1917 he served in the First World War. He made many advances to the design of libraries, and is especially known for The Dogma of the Systematic Arrangement.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacob Burckhardt Collection consist of correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, and writings. Some material is by Burckhardt but the bulk is about him.

Correspondence contains letters from Burckhardt and a substantial amount of letters to or from Leyh.

Memorabilia contains artwork, photographs, and miscellaneous material.

Printed material contains brochures for books, clippings, dust jackets, and magazines.

Writings contains material by Burckhardt, Leyh, Wolfflin, and others. Some items are handwritten and some are pritned.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged by sender and chronologically with undated material or empty envelopes at the end. Artwork and miscellaneous memorabilia are arranged chronologically with undated material at the end. Photographs are in no particular order. Printed material is arranged chronologically with undated material at the end. Writings are arranged by author with unidentified material at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Burckhardt, Jacob, 1818-1897.
Leyh, Georg, 1877-1968.
Wolfflin, Heinrich, 1864-1945.

Subjects

Art historians -- 19th century.
Art historians -- Switzerland.

Genres and Forms

Book jackets.
Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Magazines (periodicals)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photocopies.
Photographs.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Art historians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacob Burckhardt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010
Revision history: 12 Feb 2019 - processed (KD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Burckhardt, Jakob 1875-1887 - most are photocopies
Box 1 Burckhardt, Jakob 1842-1893 - transcripts
Box 1 Leyh, Georg 1906-1962, undated
Memorabilia
Box 1 Artwork 1923-1928, undated
Box 1 Photographs - most of Burckhardt
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1912-1965, undated
Printed material
Box  Brochures 1921-1961, undated - most are advertisements for books about Burckhardt
Box 1 Clippings 1858-1968, undated (3 folders)
Oversize 1 Clippings 1923-1968, undated
Box 1 Dust jackets 1919-1932, undated
Oversize 1 Dust jackets (1 item)
Box  Magazines 1919, 1928
Writings
Box 1 Burckhardt, Jacob 1858-1888 - letters between Burckhardt and Albert Brenner, Franz Kugler, and Friedrich Nietzche, including some analysis
Box 1 Leyh, Georg 1953-1962, undated - includes reviews of Burckhardt's writings, From Forty Years of Library Work, and Der Junge Burckhardt.
Box 1 Wolfflin, Heinrich 1867-1918 - biographical material about Burckhardt
Box 1 By others B-K
Box 2 By others M-S
Box 2 By others T-W, unidentified
Box 2 By others, unidentified

Return to top