Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

David Emmert Brumbaugh Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brumbaugh, David Emmert (1894-1977)
Title: David Emmert Brumbaugh Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1962
Quantity: 13 linear ft.
Abstract: United States congressman from Pennsylvania. Collection includes campaign and election material, correspondence, texts of speeches and bills; also some later material (correspondence and other items) relating to Brumbaugh's tenure as Pennsylvania's Secretary of Banking.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David Emmert Brumbaugh (1894-1977) was an American banker, insurance executive and legislator. He served in the U.S. Army during World War I, and later was a U.S. Representative from Pennsylvania (1943-1947) and a member of the Pennsylvania state senate (1963-1967). In 1947 Pennsylvania Governor James A. Duff appointed him the state's Secretary of Banking, a position he held until 1952. He was a Pennsylvania delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1952, 1956 and 1960.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David Emmert Brumbaugh Papers contain three types of material. Because the material is in original order, this material is scattered throughout the collection. The researcher is advised to review the entire inventory carefully to ensure locating all relevant material.

Campaigns and elections material consists of campaign receipts and expenditures, county and town lists of voter registrations, lists of Republican committeemen, candidate's petitions, press releases, election results, and congratulatory messages from constituents.

Material relating to the 78th and 79th Congresses includes the correspondence of Brumbaugh's predecessor, James E. Van Zandt. Much of this correspondence points up the legislative responsibilities of a congressman during World War II and its aftermath. There are letters from constituents requesting help in obtaining passports, sugar, farm deferments, and military discharges. Also included is correspondence relating to the mustering-out pay bill for members of the armed forces, the soldier vote bill, the Continuation of Commodity Credit Corporation with Anti-Food Subsidy provision, the overriding of the President's veto tax bill, extension of the land-lease act, the G.I. Bill of Rights, Townsend Legislation, and more.

Also included in this series are texts of Brumbaugh's speeches before Congress.

Banking-related material covers Brumbaugh's career as Pennsylvania's Secretary of Banking and his correspondence with fellow bankers and banking association officers.

Correspondents of note in the collection include Pennsylvania Governors James A. Duff and Edward Martin, House Minority Leader Joseph W. Martin, Jr., Chester Bowles and Paul Porter.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order with (for the most part) the donor's original subject headings.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brumbaugh, David Emmert (1894-1977)
Van Zandt, James E. (James Edward), 1898-

Subjects

Bankers -- Pennsylvania.
Legislators -- Pennsylvania.
Legislators -- United States.

Places

Pennsylvania -- Politics and government -- 1951-

Genres and Forms

Bills (legislative records)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Speeches.

Occupations

Bankers.
Legislators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Emmert Brumbaugh Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James Emmert Brumbaugh, circa 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Sep 1994
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Papers
Correspondence
Box 1 A-Boh 1944-1945
Box 2 Boj-Co 1944-1945
Box 3 Cr-Ey 1944-1945
Box 4 Fa-Gw 1944-1945
Box 5 Ha-J 1944-1945
Box 6 Ka-Mc 1944-1945
Box 7 Mc-My 1944-1945
Box 8 Na-Q 1944-1945
Box 9 Ra-Shop 1944-1945
Box 10 Shope-Sw 1944-1945
Box 11 Ta-Wa 1944-1945
Box 12 We-Z 1944-1945
Box 13 Annapolis/West Point 1946
Box 13 Army/Navy game tickets 1946
Box 13 Applications to West Point 1946
Box 13 Case Bill 1946
Miscellaneous
Box 13 Bills introduced by DEB 1946
Box 13 Baby books 1946
Box 14 Newspaper articles 1945-1946
Correspondence
Box 15 A-Cu 1946
Box 16 Da-Gu 1946
Box 17 Ha-Ly 1946
Box 18 Mc-Q 1946
Box 19 Ra-Sw 1946
Box 20 T-Z 1946
Box 20 A-H (O.D.)* 1946
Box 20 J-Z (O.D.)* 1946
Box 21 James Van Zandt 1939-1943
Box 21 Campaign 1944, 1946
Miscellaneous
Box 21 Election expenditures 1944
Box 21 Election receipts and expenditures 1943
Box 21 Petitions 1944
Box 21 Announcements 1944
Correspondence
Box 22 Red Cross 1944, 1945
Box 22 Sugar 1946
Box 22 Sugar shortage 1946
Box 22 Sympathy 1946
Miscellaneous
Box 22 Speeches 1945-1946
Correspondence
Box 23 Townsend Bill 1946
Box 23 Terminal Leave Pay 1946
Box 23 U.S. Military Academy 1941, 1944
Box 23 U.S. Naval Academy 1944
Box 23 Veterans Hospital 1946
Box 23 Veterans Hospital, 79th Congress 1945
Box 23 HR 309, introduced by DEB 1945
Box 23 U.S. Merchant Marine Academy 1945
Box 23 Voting record 1943
Box 23 HR 1964 1945
Box 23 HR 5293, introduced by DEB 1945
Box 24 Wedding 1943
Box 24 Election results 1943
Box 24 Election results, Nov. 1944
Box 24 23rd District committeemen and women 1944
Box 24 Congratulations 1944
Box 24 Birthday 1944
Box 24 Compulsory military training (pro and con) 1946
Box 24 Invitations 1946
Box 24 Congratulations 1946
Box 24 Coal 1946
Miscellaneous
Box 24 Congratulations political workers 1945
Box 24 Immigrations visa I-133 1945
Correspondence
Box 25 National Service Law HR 3944 1944
Box 25 Omnibus Bill of Legions: HR 3917, HR 4057, S 1767 1944
Box 25 Nurse Draft bill 1945
Box 25 Lumber 1946
Box 25 Lakemont Legion 1946
Miscellaneous
Box 25 Lists 1945
Box 25 Labor drafts 1945
Box 25 Nurse Draft bill 1945
Box 25 Lake Erie / Ohio River Canal 1945
Box 25 Political 1944
Box 25 Publicity 1946
Correspondence
Box 26 [General] 27 Feb 1951-6 Nov 1962
Miscellaneous
Box 26 Speeches
Correspondence
Box 27 Post office 1945
Box 27 Personal 1945
Miscellaneous
Box 27 Petitions 1946
Box 27 Petitions for primary 1944
Box 27 Publicity 1944

Return to top