Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ethel Bruce Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bruce, Ethel.
Title: Ethel Bruce Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, writings, subject files, published material of the American writer and poet.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ethel Bruce (1911-2013) was an American housewife, writer and poet from Dix, Illinois. A member of the American Poetry League, Bruce wrote poetry, articles, and a column for the local newspaper, The Sentinel.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ethel Bruce Papers contains correspondence (incoming only), writings (manuscript poems), a subject file of photographs, and published material (articles, clippings, and poems).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bruce, Ethel.

Subjects

Women authors, American.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ethel Bruce Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Jan 1967
Revision history: 15 Jan 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 4 Jan 2011 - updated bio (MRC); 16 Jul 2013 - updated bio (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 B-W and unidentified
Manuscripts
Box 1 Poems
Subject files
Box 1 Photographs
Published material
Box 1 Articles by
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about
Box 1 Newspaper clippings by
Box 1 Poems

Return to top