Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Phillips Brooks Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brooks, Phillips, 1835-1893.
Title: Phillips Brooks Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1890-1958
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: The papers of the American Episcopal bishop and poet include a signed holograph ms. of a portion of one of Brooks' poems, "A Christmas Carol" (1898), and a musical score written in 1958 by William Self to accompany the poem.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Phillips Brooks was an American Episcopal bishop and poet.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Phillips Brooks Collection, comprised of writings by Brooks (1835-1895) and memorabilia related to his writings, contains two items from the years 1890 and 1958. "O Little Town of Bethlehem" is Episcopal bishop Brooks' most famous Christmas poem.

Writings consists of a signed holograph manuscript of a portion of one of Brooks' poems, "A Christmas Carol" (1898). Written to accompany "A Christmas Carol," Memorabilia contains a 1958 musical score by William Self, choir master and organist for St. Thomas Church in New York.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Both "A Christmas Carol" and the musical setting were used in George Arents' 1958 Christmas card, a specimen of which is among the Library's rare book collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brooks, Phillips, 1835-1893.
Self, William.

Subjects

Episcopal Church, Clergy.
Hymns, English, United States.

Genres and Forms

Hymns.

Occupations

Clergy.
Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Phillips Brooks Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Nov 1993
Revision history: 20 Nov 2008 - corrected inclusive dates (LDC); 09 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 112 "A Christmas Carol" 27 Nov 1890 - signed holograph manuscript
Memorabilia
SC 112 Musical score for Brooks' "A Christmas Carol" by William Shelf 1958

Return to top