Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Charles F. Brannock Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brannock, Charles F.
Title: Charles F. Brannock Papers
Inclusive Dates: [1903-1992]
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, printed material, and memorabilia relating to the American businessman and inventor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Brannock (1903-1992) was an American businessman and inventor. A graduate of Syracuse University, he was the owner of the Park-Brannock Shoe Store in Syracuse, New York and invented the Brannock device, the metal plate with adjustable slides used to measure foot size which is now the industry standard for shoe stores world-wide.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Brannock Papers contains correspondence, printed material, and memorabilia relating to the American businessman and inventor.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brannock, Charles F.

Corporate Bodies

Delta Kappa Epsilon. -- Phi Gamma chapter (Syracuse University)
Syracuse University -- Alumni and alumnae.

Subjects

Inventors -- United States.
Shoes -- Fitting.
Shoes -- Sizes.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Inventors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Brannock Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from University Archives, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Feb 2019
Revision history: 6 Apr 2020 - Related material updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top