Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Cyrus Townsend Brady Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brady, Cyrus Townsend, 1861-1920.
Title: Cyrus Townsend Brady Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1901-1917, undated
Quantity: 4 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American author, priest. Four items of correspondence, including a letter from the mayor of New York City thanking Brady for his participation in planning the "visit of the Missions".
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cyrus Townsend Brady (1861-1920) was an American author and priest best known for his historical romance novels centered on the American Revolution, War of 1812, and the American Civil War.

Townsend was born in Allegheny, Pennsylvania on December 20, 1861. He graduated from the United States Naval Academy in 1883 before going on to become an ordained deacon in 1889 and a priest 1890. Townsend served as rector of several Episcopalian churches in Missouri and Colorado and archdeacon of Kansas until 1895. In 1899, he was appointed archdeacon of Pennsylvania before becoming Rector of St. Paul's Church in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Selected Works

1909 The Island of Regeneration
1911 As the Sparks Fly Upward
1913 The Island of the Stairs
1917 "By the World Forgot"

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cyrus Townsend Brady Letters contains four pieces of correspondence including a letter from the mayor of New York City, John Purroy Mitchel, thanking Brady for serving on the committee for the "visit of the Missions".

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is divided into two subseries: Incoming correspondence and Outgoing correspondence. The letters are arranged alphabetically within each subseries.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brady, Cyrus Townsend, 1861-1920.
Howard, Charles T., fl. 1901.
Mitchel, John Purroy, 1879-1918.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Episcopal Church -- United States -- Clergy.
Missions -- New York (State) -- New York.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Priests.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cyrus Townsend Brady Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 05 May 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming correspondence
SC 320 Hamilton, [?] undated
SC 320 Mitchel, John Purroy 11 Apr 1917
SC 320 Mitchel, John Purroy 15 May 1917
Outgoing correspondence
SC 320 Howard, Charles T. 18 Dec 1901

Return to top