Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Edwin T. Bowden Collection Relating to Peter De Vries

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bowden, Edwin T.
Title: Edwin T. Bowden Collection Relating to Peter De Vries
Inclusive Dates: 1936-1990
Quantity: .25 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Bowden, American literary historian and biographer. Correspondence, a small amount of writing and memorabilia relating to his bibliography of De Vries, the comic novelist and New Yorker editor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edwin T. Bowden (1924-2006) was an American literary historian and biographer. Following his B.A. from Harvard University in 1948, Bowden received a Fulbright Fellowship at Cambridge University, where he studied with F.R. Leavis, and then a Ph.D. from Yale University in 1952. Bowden taught briefly at Yale (1952-1956) but spent the majority of his career at the University of Texas (1956-1994). His area of concentration was 18th and 19th century American literature and poetry, and he wrote several scholarly biographies on American writers, including James Thurber, Peter DeVries, and Washington Irving.

Peter De Vries (1910-1993) was an American comic novelist and editor. Born in Chicago, Illinois, he studied at Calvin College and Northwestern University. He was editor for Poetry magazine from 1938 to 1944 and then joined the staff of The New Yorker magazine, where he worked for more than forty years (1944 to 1987). Notable works by him include Comfort Me With Apples (1956), The Blood of the Lamb (1961), and Cat's Pyjamas (1968).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1936 to 1990, the Edwin T. Bowden Collection Relating to Peter De Vries comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia assembled by the American literary historian and bibliographer. The material documents Bowden's work an his bibliography of Peter De Vries while also illuminating the role of the comic novelist and New Yorker editor in its creation.

Correspondence includes 61 De Vries letters and postcards generated between 1963 and 1990. Published essays, poems, and stories from Esquire, The New Yorker, Saturday Review, and The Saturday Evening Post constitute De Vries' Writings. Memorabilia contains a 1974 critical essay and newspaper reviews of De Vries' novels.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and writings are arranged chronologically. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

In addition to the manscript material, the Library also houses a comprehensive selection of various editions of Peter De Vries' books from Edwin T. Bowden's library. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

De Vries, Peter, 1910-1993.

Subjects

American fiction.
American wit and humor.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Dust jackets.
Essays.
Poems.
Printed material.
Reviews (document genre)

Occupations

Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edwin T. Bowden Collection Relating to Peter De Vries,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased with funds from the Adah C. Blackman Fund, 1996.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Nov 1996
Revision history: 14 Mar 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 126 1963-1990 (2 folders, 61 items)
Writings
SC 126 1936-1979 - printed material
Memorabilia (printed material)
SC 126 Criticism/reviews 1965-1983, undated
SC 126 Dust jackets and dust jacket proofs
SC 126 Mentions 1968, 1972-1973
SC 126 Publicity (2 items)

Return to top