Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George S. Boutwell Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Boutwell, George S. (George Sewall), 1818-1905.
Title: George S. Boutwell Letters
Inclusive Dates: 1883-1896
Quantity: 2 items (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence (outgoing) of the American politician from Massachusetts.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George S. Boutwell (1818-1905) was an American politician who served as Governor of Massachusetts (1851-1853), United States Congressman (1863-1869), United States Senator (1873-1877), and Secretary of the Treasury under President Grant (1869-1873).
1818 Born George Sewall Boutwell in Brookline, Massachusetts
1842-1844 Member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives
1847-1850 Member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives
1849-1851 Massachusetts State Bank Commissioner
1851-1853 Governor of Massachusetts
1855-1861 Secretary of the Massachusetts Board of Education
1862-1863 Commissioner of Internal Revenue
1863-1869 Member of the United States House of Representatives
1869-1873 Secretary of the Treasury (appointed by President Grant)
1873-1877 Member of the United States Senate
1880 Counsel to the French and American Claims Commission
1898-1905 President of the Anti-Imperialist League
1905 Died in Groton, Massachusetts

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George S. Boutwell Letters contains two pieces of outgoing correspondence. The first letter explains that a copy of the Medical and Surgical History (part 3, volume 2) was sent to Boutwell by the U.S. Attorney General. In this letter, Boutwell offers to forward a copy to the letter's recipient, [?] Dillingham. The second letter is written in response to a letter sent by D. C. Heath asking Boutwell to provide feedback on a chapter for a history book. Boutwell notes that he "[did] not notice any errors."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically by recipient.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Boutwell, George S. (George Sewall), 1818-1905.
Heath, Daniel Collamore, 1842-1908.

Subjects

Editing -- Miscellanea.
Politicians -- Massachusetts.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Governors.
Politicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George S. Boutwell Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 05 May 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 318 Heath, Daniel Collamore 26 Dec 1896
SC 318 Dillingham, [?] 30 Sep 1883

Return to top