Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry Botkin Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Botkin, Henry Albert, 1896-1983.
Title: Henry Botkin Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1928-1965
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American painter and illustrator. Collection includes correspondence, printed material, photographs, clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Botkin (1896-1983) was an American abstract, modern and expressionist painter and illustrator; he was known for his figure-views, still lifes, and non-objective paintings. He was active in artistic circles, served as president of four major art organizations (Artists Equity Association, American Abstract Artists, Group 256 Provincetown, and Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors), and in 1955 organized the first exhibition of American abstract art at the Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo, Japan.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Botkin Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, manuscript material, photographs, published material and subject files.

Biographical material contains a biographical sketch of Botkin from the 1948 Marquis International Who's Who.

Correspondence includes letters to or from Botkin's wife and fellow painter Anna Walinska, along with a few unidentified letters.

Manuscripts contains an assortment of material by and about Botkin, including a book outline, press releases, some pencil sketches, speeches and discussions.

Photographs are of Botkin, his work, and the work of others.

The bulk of Published material is comprised of newspaper clippings by and about Botkin; there are also some reproductions of Botkin's work and some exhibit material. Two books originally with the collection have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.

Subject files includes financial material (bills, receipts, etc.), an essay on abstrac art in Japan by Sabro Hasagawa, a few building plans and meeting minutes from several organizations to which Botkin belonged.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Two books (listed in inventory below) have been sent to Rare Books for cataloging.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Botkin, Henry Albert, 1896-1983.

Subjects

Expressionism (Art)
Painting, Abstract.
Painting, America -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Occupations

Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Botkin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Henry Botkin, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Apr 2010
Revision history: 21 Jun 2011 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material 1948 - "International Who's Who" published by the A.N. Marquis Co.
Correspondence
Box 1 Mrs. Botkin 1937-1962 - handwritten and typed letters; photocopied letters
Box 1 Anna Walinska 1928-1965 - handwritten and typed letters; photocopied letters
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1919-1939 - handwritten letters; photocopied letters
Manuscripts
Box 1 About Botkin's work 1927-1959 - critiques and reviews
Box 1 Autobiographical undated
Box 1 By Botkin 1944 undated - outline for book; writings on art and artists
Box 1 Gallery press releases by Botkin 1957-1962 - Gallery 256; Karlis Gallery; Museum of Modern Art
Box 1 Gallery press releases mentioning Botkin 1957-1962 - Gallery 256; Karlis Gallery
Box 1 "Henry Botkin" by anonymous undated
Box 1 Pencil sketches by Botkin undated
Box 1 Speeches and discussions 1958 undated - first draft for forum-Museum of Modern Art; copy of Botkin's part in panel discussion for federation meeting; discussion with Mr. Segy and Mrs. Story
Photographs
Box 1 Negatives undated
Box 1 Of works of others undated - from Henry Botkin to George Gershwin
Box 1 Of Botkin's work 1928-1961
Box 1 Of Henry Botkin circa 1950 undated
Published material
Book, Art: From Life to Life by A. Walkowitz
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 1 Exhibitions 1935-1965 - newspaper clippings and promotional material
Exhibition catalog, Catalogue des Tableaux Modernes 1928
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about Botkin 1929-1963 undated
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about others 1929-1956 undated - B.A. Botkin; Gershwin; Curry; Glackens; Lahey; Kern; Zanuck; Edzard; Cezanne
Box 1 Newspaper clippings by Botkin 1958 - "One-Man Shows at Karlis Gallery"
Box 1 Reproductions of Botkin's work 1923-1961
Subject files
Box 1 Bills, receipts, checks, invoices 1957-1960
Box 1 Building plans, Artist's Equity 1952 undated
Box 1 Hasegawa, Sabro, "Abstract Art in Japan Today" and vitae undated - essay and notes
Box 1 Minutes of meetings 1952-1953 - Artist's Equity Association Board of Directors; Building Administration Board

Return to top